Hipcamp host Brent W.,
Hosted by
Brent has self-certified that Hipcamp’s COVID-19 Safety Standards have been implemented at this listing. See what’s being done here.

Closed until spring. See our winter sites. Enjoy the best lake views from this flat rock shelf next to the lake. This campsite is accessible by water or by hiking for 1.8km.  A Thunderbox is provided. A small dock sits beside a nice rock ledge.  Enjoy sunsets from this western facing campsite.

This is backcountry camping. Come prepared for remote environment.

Read more...

Closed until spring. See our winter sites. Enjoy the best lake views from this flat rock shelf next to the lake. This campsite is accessible by water or by hiking for 1.8km.  A Thunderbox is provided. A small dock sits beside a nice rock ledge.  Enjoy sunsets from this western facing campsite.

This is backcountry camping. Come prepared for remote environment.

The three campsites at Raven's Point are about 100m apart.

Campsite area
Bring your own tents
1 site
Up to 8 guests per site
Hike in
No wheelchair access
Essentials
Campfires allowed
Toilet available
Pets allowed
Amenities
Kitchen available
Bins available
No potable water
No showers
No picnic table
No wifi
Laundry absent
Have a question? Send Brent a message!
  • Check in: After 1PM
  • Check out: Before 12PM
  • Cancellation policy: Moderate
  • On arrival: Meet and greet
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 12 months out
  • Weeknight discount: 10% off

You know what would make this trip even better?

Take advantage of these offers available to add to your trip to Raven's Point 2, Tryfan Forest

CA$12.95

Firewood bundle

Start your trip off right with a bundle of firewood waiting for you at your c...Read more

Add to trip
Remove
0
max
CA$7
Experience

Day Pass

Day passes should be purchased for all guests of campers at Tryfan Forest (an...Read more

Add to trip
Remove
0
max
CA$15
Goods

Grocery Delivery Service

For $15 delivery fee you can have items delivered to your campsite from 8:30a...Read more

Add to trip
Remove
0
max
CA$20
Experience

Camping Equipment Delivery Service

For $20 you can have your camping equipment for your entire party delivered t...Read more

Add to trip
Remove
0
max
CA$10
Rental

Rickshaw-style camping gear cart

Rent this pull behind cart that holds up to 500lbs. Large wheels easily navig...Read more

Add to trip
Remove
0
max

Activities

Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Biking
Fishing
Hiking
Paddling
Wind sports
Surfing
Swimming
Wildlife watching

Terrain

Natural features you'll find at Raven's Point 2, Tryfan Forest in Ontario.

Beach
Forest
Lake
Field
River, stream, or...
Swimming hole
Waterfall
Wetlands

9 Reviews

This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Ashley

A nice clean campsite!

Ashley Y.
recommends this listing.
September 16th, 2021

My daughter, our dog and I camped at R2 on the September long weekend. The site was very clean and well taken care of, the new thunderbox was also clean, taken care of, and appropriately placed away from the site. Brent and his team popped by and were very kind to myself and my daughter. The hiking trails were great, we enjoyed a peaceful hike to the waterfall and didn't see any one else during our walk. The lake was nice, decent swimming off the dock, but very shallow and not much in the way of fish. Those were all great things! Now to the not so great things... The canoe put in was not great, especially on our way out, there was two motor boats pushed together and in order to get to the shore we had to wedge our canoe between them and push them aside. This was a challenge with a young kid in the bow. The dock on our site needed some repairs, but Brent's worker adjusted it with some rope for the time being. We also paid extra for a bag of wood, but the wood however was all wet inside and basically unusable. There was plenty of dry wood around the camp to burn, and I was glad I wasn't relying solely on the wood provided. All in all, we would definitely go back, but I would love to see some improvements in those areas. Thanks for the nice campsite, Brent!
-Ashley, Nora and Dodger

Hipcamper Brent
Response from Brent, the Host, on September 16th, 2021

Hi Ashley, Sorry about the wood. Wish you had mentioned when it happened as I would have replaced with dry wood. I get the bags from Roasty Toasty Campfire wood which is company started by a very young entrepreneur: https://haliburtonecho.ca/roasty-toasty-campfire-wood-focus-of-11-year-old-entrepreneur/ Probably the bag got wet somehow. Totally agree with you regarding the canoe put in. My plan is to put a dock there and also to replace the dock at RP2. Great feedback and will totally follow up on these suggestions.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper adam
Adam Z.
recommends this listing.
September 13th, 2021

Brent and Team were excellent hosts. We rented the rickshaw style cart to help hike our gear into camp. The cart worked well, just remember to tie your load down with rope or bungee's to secure everything to accommodate the trail. During the hike in we lost a potato, which was returned to us by boat by Brent! Tent pitches were soft and comfortable. There were a few trails around all the sites which at first got confusing finding the correct site. Additional trail markers for sites would be handy as the team expands. Overall a great trip! will be booking again for next season!

Hipcamper Erik

Overall bad experience

Erik L.
doesn't recommend this listing.
September 8th, 2021

The host never met with us upon arrival and there were some promises of other sites we could check but once we arrived it seemed like a nuisance for the host and he offered a different site for us to take so we did. The following day he realised he had booked that site for someone else, and awkwardly mentioned we may have to move which I responded with how about you at least offer the other site to the campers since we've set up our site. The lake is very shallow and dirty. The campsite beside us the following night was occupied by a young couple who were inexperienced and were using the hosts service to bring their gear down to the site for them on point 2 (because its a hike in as-well). They did not hear for hours from the host because as they came to find out he ran out of gas and did not inform them he left for the remainder of the night! My friend guided them back to their parking spot because it was dark and they were scared/inexperienced as mentioned above, and helped bring their gear down/ set it up for them. Pretty horrible experience but thats just ours, plentiful of others have provided positive ones on here.

Hipcamper Brent
Response from Brent, the Host, on September 15th, 2021

Dear Erik, I'm sorry you were unsatisfied with your camping experience. We take customer satisfaction seriously and so I have refunded your payment. Expect to see it in 7 to 10 days. I won't respond publicly to your complaints other than to say some of your statements aren't entirely accurate - perhaps because you don't have all the information. But what is certainly the case is that you were dissatisfied with your experience and for that I'm truly sorry. Wishing you all the best in your camping endeavors. Tryfan Forest

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Samuel

Frogs, turtles, waterfall, perfect

Samuel B.
recommends this listing.
August 22nd, 2021

Raven's Point was an ideal retreat for my girlfriend, the dog, and I. We had a great time exploring the property. Brent was kind and accommodating. We explored the woods, swam, and he let us use his boat. We could sit on the dock forever and watch the turtles swim in the water and the frogs hop along the grass. It was a great place to adventure and relax. We highly recommend it.

Raven's Point 2, Tryfan ForestRaven's Point 2, Tryfan ForestRaven's Point 2, Tryfan ForestRaven's Point 2, Tryfan Forest
Hipcamper Andrew

Brent was a great host

Andrew M.
recommends this listing.
August 15th, 2021

Great spot and will rent again.

Hipcamper Anastasia
Anastasia F.
recommends this listing.
August 2nd, 2021

Beautiful property by Brent! We canoed into our site. Trails and campsite were very well marked and easy to navigate, especially with the concise maps and directions from Brent. The dock made for a great fishing spot, one of our favourite features. 5 star backcountry experience including friendly hospitality and clean thunderbox. We had an amazing time!

Raven's Point 2, Tryfan ForestRaven's Point 2, Tryfan ForestRaven's Point 2, Tryfan Forest
Hipcamper Brent
Response from Brent, the Host, on August 5th, 2021

It was a real pleasure to meet you and share some stories. For other hosts: ideal campers here you will want to come back again and again.

Helpful
1
Helpful
1
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Brandon
Brandon A.
recommends this listing.
July 16th, 2021

Was a great spot to camp! Lots of cool wildlife , flat area for tents, the lake is fun to explore! Would Deffinitly recommend!

Hipcamper Brent
Response from Brent, the Host, on July 16th, 2021

Thanks Brandon, hope to see you again soon.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Chantal

Fantastic hidden gem!

Chantal G.
recommends this listing.
June 29th, 2021

Fantastic property with amazing well kept sites and nice docks for easy access to lake! Great views, extremely well kept and marked trail as well as gracious host! Host was extremely information as well as responsive to any question we had. We loved Tryfan Forest and cannot wait to plan another trip!

Raven's Point 2, Tryfan ForestRaven's Point 2, Tryfan ForestRaven's Point 2, Tryfan ForestRaven's Point 2, Tryfan Forest
Hipcamper Brent
Response from Brent, the Host, on June 30th, 2021

Thanks Chantal. You're the kind of hipcamper that makes hosting so worthwhile. The forecast was torrential rains for the whole weekend. Other hipcampers cancelled. But not Chantal and company. They showed up with great attitudes and had the whole property to themselves. They got soaked but that didn't deter them and depress them. Highly recommend Chantal as a camper. Come back soon!

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Joshua

Great backcountry experience

Joshua S.
recommends this listing.
June 2nd, 2021

Spent last weekend at Tryfan Forest on Campsite 2 and had a great experience. Brent, the host bent over backwards to ensure we enjoyed our stay and that our expectations (albeit simple) were met. We canoed the lake and hiked the trails and found it to be awesome. Campsites were clean, flat and on par with what one would expect from a average to above average Algonquin Park backcountry campsite. Shortly after arriving Brent and his team installed a new dock (WOW) to our campsite and an brand new thunderbox (Double WOW). He checked in on us and made sure we were enjoying ourselves, could find the properties trails and features and that nothing was lacking. The trails were beautiful and the 800 acre property is a real hidden Gem. The lake was clean & picturesqe and the wildlife and birds were abundant. One should have basic or backcountry skills, as well as some experience in portaging or backpacking into a backcountry site, as well as be in somewhat good basic physical shape. The sunsets were pretty good too. My only regret is not having more time to explore the property, but i will definitely be going back.
Do not expect a hotel with room service, this is a backcountry wilderness experience, not the Royal York, if your expectations are in line with backcountry camping you will enjoy your experience. I had the opportunity to check out all three campsites and they were all more than adequate and better than my average provincial park backcountry backpacking or canoe- in camping site. Brent seems hell bent on making significant improvements, but to be honest it was really great as is. This is a great place for backpackers or canoe-campers to spend an easier backcountry weekend, relax and unwind in nature. The fees were more than fair given the going rate of any campsite, but it was the property and the hosts' vision for it that will keep me coming back.

Raven's Point 2, Tryfan ForestRaven's Point 2, Tryfan ForestRaven's Point 2, Tryfan ForestRaven's Point 2, Tryfan Forest
Hipcamper Brent
Response from Brent, the Host, on June 2nd, 2021

Thanks Josh. It's fantastic to get feedback and advice from experienced campers. You had really great suggestions and insights. Josh and co. were excellent guests. It's really nice to hear how much they enjoy the property. Thanks for your comments. I hope you'll come back soon.

Helpful
1
Helpful
1
Remove vote :(
Property
Brent W.’s Land
State
Ontario
Country
Canada
CA$45/night
1 Site

Lists including Raven's Point 2, Tryfan Forest

42 camps including Marble Lake Site and Raven's Point 2, Tryfan Forest
65 camps including Wild Rose Sanctuary Farm Retreat and Cedar Creek Forest Camping
38 camps including Hug's Farm View Point and Merlin Ranch