Hipcamp host Donelly B.,
Hosted by
Donelly has self-certified that Hipcamp’s COVID-19 Safety Standards have been implemented at this listing. See what’s being done here.
Description Welcome to Cumberland, Maryland. We have 2 campgrounds in close proximity to each other. Campground # 1 is called THE HILLCREST RIVER CAMPGROUND. Campground # 2 is called THE CANAL TUNNEL RIVER CAMPGROUND. They are only 3 miles from each other. Book either location and enjoy both. The Campgrounds offer camping for RVs and Tents. They are only 1 mile from Canal Place
Read more...
Description Welcome to Cumberland, Maryland. We have 2 campgrounds in close proximity to each other. Campground # 1 is called THE HILLCREST RIVER CAMPGROUND. Campground # 2 is called THE CANAL TUNNEL RIVER CAMPGROUND. They are only 3 miles from each other. Book either location and enjoy both. The Campgrounds offer camping for RVs and Tents. They are only 1 mile from Canal Place in down town Cumberland and 5 miles from THE ROCKY GAP CASINO AND RESORT. They offer Hiking and Cycling on the C and O CANAL NATION PARK THE GREAT ALLEGHENY PASSAGE and THE KNOBLEY MOUNTAIN TUNNEL TRAIL. They both have Non- Isolated, Isolated and Super Isolated Campsites. FIREWOOD, BOATING,FISHING, SWIMING, HIKING and CYCLING is Available at both locations.****************THE HILLCREST RIVER CAMPGROUND Is located on 60 acres at 10410B Hillcrest Dr. Cumberland Maryland 21502 It is by Tractor World, 1/10 mile off of I 68 EXIt 45. There are 60 campsites here. Hookups are available HERE for $10.00 EXTRA PER DAY. If you want HOOKUPS PLEASE LET THE HOST KNOW. HOOKUPS MUST BE PAID FOR WHEN YOU ARRIVE. We have a flush toilet and a Hot shower HERE. There is a UNIQUE POND with a Dock and Canopy. Sorry fishing is NOT allowed. There are many hiking trails. Be sure to visit the cliff overlook on one of the Trails. There is a Convenience store that is open 24/7***********************************THE CANAL TUNNEL iRIVER CAMPGROUND is located on 40 acres at 1 Elizabeth street Cumberland MD.21502. It is off of THE CANAL PARKWAY. There are 42 Campsites. This campground is along THE NORTH BRANCH OF THE POTOMAC RIVER and THE C and O NATIONAL PARK and THE KNOBLEY MOUNTAIN TUNNEL TRAIL. There is over 1 miles from River frontage and 2 River Islands. There are NO Hookups. OR SHOWERS HERE. Generators are welcome. This location offers a 5 Bedroom, 4 Bathroom House for short term rental. Be sure to visit the Tunnel ant take THE RIVER WALK.**********************************************PLEASE LET THE HOST KNOW AT WHICH CAMPGROUND YOU ARE CAMPING ? WHAT YOU ARE CAMPING IN? IF YOU NEED HOOKUPS AND FIREWOOD? THANKS DONELLY 301-7773472 cell 301-7077098
Campsite area
Bring your own tents, RVs
60 sites
Up to 14 guests per site
Park at listing
Wheelchair access
Essentials
Campfires allowed
Toilet available
Pets allowed
Amenities
Potable water available
Showers available
Picnic table available
Bins available
No kitchen
No wifi
Camping vehicle details
No electrical hookup
No water hookup
No sewage hookup
No TV hookup
Generators not allowed
Have a question? Send Donelly a message!
  • Check in: After 2PM
  • Check out: Before 12PM
  • Cancellation policy: Strict
  • On arrival: Meet and greet
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 3 months out

Activities

Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Off-roading (OHV)

Call Don301-707-7098

Biking
Boating
Fishing
Hiking
Paddling
Wind sports
Climbing
Snow sports
Swimming
Whitewater paddling
Wildlife watching

Terrain

Natural features you'll find at The Hillcrest River Kampground in Maryland.

Forest
River, stream, or...
Swimming hole

165 Reviews

This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Seth

Gorgeous spot!

Seth A.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
October 12th, 2021

This is a beautiful location nestled by the river. Really glad I pedaled the extra mile to camp outside Cumberland. You can make out the highway as a dull murmur -- but birds and nature made up more of the soundscape. If you're camping off-season, you need to ask Mr. Bohrer about access to drinking water.

Hipcamper Randall

Great place

Randall W.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
September 30th, 2021

Great place to relax, amazing view, wonderful host. Would definitely stay here again.

View from our camper!
Hipcamper Karen
Karen D.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
September 27th, 2021

Absolutely wonderful! Beautiful scenery,, host were amazing helped in any way they could. Loved seeing their property with little walks at both campgrounds.

Hipcamper Donelly
Response from Donelly, the Host, on October 1st, 2021

Karen: Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate that you chose to stay with us........... Don and Diana Bohrer

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Virginia

Great hosts

Virginia N.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
September 26th, 2021

I called and told them I was going to be late getting in. They sat and waited for me to make sure I found it and that I had everything I needed.

Hipcamper Macon

Do not stay here!

Macon R.
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Dispersed site)
September 22nd, 2021

This place was terrible. We decided to make reservations at this campground after working a full day and traveling that evening. We told the owner at 8:37 pm we would arrive around 10:30 pm or so. When we arrived at 11:00 pm nothing was as promised on the website. When we called the owner he yelled at us for calling so late and refused to help us find the hot shower and flushable toilet. While on the phone, less than 3 minutes after pulling onto the property, a man who appeared to be homeless appeared out of nowhere and approached our vehicle in of the darkest area of the campground.
No lights. No restroom facilities. No customer service.
He told us the next day we were at the wrong one of his two campgrounds. This would have been nice to tell us the night before instead is yelling at us as soon as he answered the phone.
I asked for a refund due to his behavior and his unsafe campground, but he refused.
DO NOT STAY HERE! VERY DANGEROUS!
Do yourself a favor and continue on to the KOA campground in Hagerstown. It was very nice!

Hipcamper Donelly
Response from Donelly, the Host, on October 7th, 2021

This Guest was very Rude. He got me out of bed at 11 PM at night. He said that I was a Liar and that I do not have a Restroom or a Shower. I told him that I would give him a Rain Check if he would World Promise to 1. READ THE DESCRIPTION. 2. GO TO THE RIGHT CAMPGROUND. 3. CHECK IN BEFORE IT IS DARK. Poor guy he was very Rude because of the long drive. Thanks Donelly

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Mary Ellen

Great stay!

Mary Ellen S.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
September 13th, 2021

This was a great place to stay while visiting family in the area. Hillcrest River Kampground was easy to get to right off the exit, but be sure to follow the host’s directions because he has two different campgrounds and one isn’t as easy to get to if you have a larger rv. We had full hookups for our 32’ class C. There is an excellent long distance bike trail in downtown Cumberland as well as some restaurants and shopping in the area. Donnelly and his wife were very helpful in explaining the area! We would definitely stay here again.

Our siteMountain View from our camperMorning fog at the site.
Hipcamper Michael

Tent camping on the north potomac.

Michael C.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
September 6th, 2021

Great place to stay right on the north Potomac. Access to water and a restroom if needed. Donelly is very helpful.

Hipcamper Paul

Nice!

Paul B.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
September 4th, 2021

Nice place to stop for a one night stay.

Hipcamper Darrin
Darrin C.
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
(Dispersed site)
August 30th, 2021

Don was super nice and had us set up in our spot quickly.

Property
Canal-Tunnel-River Kampground.
State
Maryland
Country
United States
$25/night
60 Sites