Hipcamp host Stephen L.,
Hosted by
Stephen has self-certified that Hipcamp’s COVID-19 Safety Standards have been implemented at this listing. See what’s being done here.

Shady Oaks is a primitive campsite in a private meadow with easy access from Tomki rd.  (Please note! The entrance gate to the meadow is only 12 feet wide (fine for cars, pickups) and is suitable only for smaller trailers and RVs. It is a sharp left-hand turn from Tomki rd. )

It is a level site under a large oak tree which provides nearly all day shade and can accom


Shady Oaks is a primitive campsite in a private meadow with easy access from Tomki rd.  (Please note! The entrance gate to the meadow is only 12 feet wide (fine for cars, pickups) and is suitable only for smaller trailers and RVs. It is a sharp left-hand turn from Tomki rd. )

It is a level site under a large oak tree which provides nearly all day shade and can accommodate multiple vehicles including trailers and RVs up to 25 feet or less. The site has a nearby water spigot (for summer time use only) and comes equipped with a fire ring and picnic table. There is a nice path through the forest to get to the creek which is about 50 yards away. The water in the creek is clear and cold but can be low in the late Summer. One can literally walk for miles up-and-down the creek, enjoying the delightful smells of pristine  Nature.  Please note: poison oak is endemic to the area. Exercise caution and common sense in how you move around in the forest. There are also stickers in the meadow which may get on your pets.  Summertime can be very hot during the day, cool at night . Some campers recommend bringing a shade structure.  We do have a Bee trap at the campsite to control wasps, which are attracted to meat and sugary drinks.

Campsite area
Bring your own tents, vans and truck campers, trailers, RVs
1 site
Up to 12 guests per site
Park at listing
Wheelchair access
Campfires allowed
Toilet available
Pets allowed
Potable water available
Picnic table available
No kitchen
No showers
No wifi
Pack it out
Laundry absent
Camping vehicle details
Generators allowed
No electrical hookup
No water hookup
No sewage hookup
No TV hookup
Pull-in site
Max length 20.0 ft
Accommodates slideouts
Surface type: grass or field
Surface levelness: flat
Have a question? Send Stephen a message!
  • Check in: After 1PM
  • Check out: Before 1PM
  • Cancellation policy: Super Strict
  • On arrival: Go straight to camp
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 3 months out

You know what would make this trip even better?

Take advantage of these offers available to add to your trip to shady oaks


Dozen eggs

Organic fresh farm eggs; much fresher than store bought!

Add to trip

Raw, Organic Lightworks honey

Fresh raw, organic honey, straight from the bee to you! 8 oz glass jars

Add to trip

Firewood bundle

Start your trip off right with a bundle of firewood waiting for you at your c...Read more

Add to trip


Offered on the Host's property or nearby.


Local area waterways such as Eel River, lake Mendocino, Pacific coast, etc. Tomki creek is a Spawning stream; no fishing


Feel free to hike for miles up and down Tomki creek bed. Little Darby nature preserve is 2 miles away by car on Canyon Road


On Tom Chi creek with the water is high; spring, winter, fall. The Eel river is a 5 mile Drive

Wind sports

Lake Mendocino is 45 minutes away and great for windsurfing, etc.


At Pacific ocean, Fort Bragg area beaches, 35 miles away


In the creek when the water is high enough. Also nearby Eel river

Whitewater paddling

On Tomki creek and Eel river during Highwater season

Wildlife watching

Lots of local wildlife, especially birds in spring and early summer



Natural features you'll find at shady oaks in California.


Many beautiful, sandy beaches up and down the creek


Lake Mendocino is great for a day trip


Campsite is in a large meadow near the road

Swimming hole

Many seasonal swimming holes on the creek


Large organic garden with seasonal produce available for purchase, as well as fresh chicken eggs and sometimes goat cheese and ...Read more


Easy access to this campsite

River, stream, or...

10 Reviews

This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Melissa
Melissa E.
recommends this listing.
September 6th, 2021

We really loved the site, it was huge and Stephen is such a wonderful host. My only complaint is that the shady area where we put our tent was really close to the drop toilet so we would get a pretty gross wiff wafting by every little while.

shady oaksshady oaksshady oaksshady oaks
Hipcamper Steve

Nice place, worth the price though?

Steve H.
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
August 8th, 2021

There was nothing bad about this place to speak of, but it certainly wasn’t anything special and certainly not worth the price.

I’ve seen Steven’s comments to other campers that mention the $55 price tag being comparable to other campsites. Is it though? Most campsites are $20-30 per night. This price point could only be justified if it were in more desirable location and with more amenities (not that I even wanted them). I’ll put it this way, just because somebody CAN charge a price for something doesn’t mean they SHOULD. Basic ethics in my opinion. Can a baseball team charge $16 for a beer at baseball game? Yes. Should they? No, it’s a rip off. This was a $25 campsite at best.

One other mildly negative comment and then I’ll focus on the good :) Steven specifically stated there were no bears (I was ready to bring a bear box), but low and behold on night two up on the ridge, a mama bear and her two cubs. It was pretty magical to be honest so I’m no complaining, prob the highlight of my trip, but he should be aware of this.

If I take price out of the equation, this place gave me what I was seeking: solitude and quiet. I was the only camper out there and being alone out in nature was exactly what I wanted. The site feels truly out there, very quiet, and I got what I wanted out of it. If the creek were running (it was bone dry), I could alllllmost see the price being justified. It wasn’t and there’s nothing that the host could do to change that — the drought is real!

Not sure I’d come back personally but would not recommend against it. If you don’t mind the price, book er’!

Hipcamper Stephen
Response from Stephen, the Host, on August 26th, 2021

sorry Steve did not enjoy our Nature sanctuary. There is water in the creek but due to the drought, one must walk up or downstream to find it. The Eel river is a short drive. The per night price is for 2 people. This is the first time in 27 years that anyone has seen a bear near (not on) our property. Extremely rare in the area. He would have been much more likely to see an eagle, which are common.

Remove vote :(
Hipcamper John

Good place for a good time..

John N.
recommends this listing.
May 30th, 2021

Had a blast at Shady Oaks for two nights of laughter around the fire under an amazingly starry night sky. While this site has nice shade most of the day, our canopy really came in handy. There's an great place to dip and cool down only a short distance away.
Spaces are kinda close, but it was workable.. next I'd just book all three sites to avoid bothering anyone..
Really beautiful setting, all round.. and nice to disconnect from the interwebs for a couple days.

shady oaks
Hipcamper Sara

A gem in mendocino county!

Sara F.
recommends this listing.
May 2nd, 2021

Stephen was such an incredible host, 10/10 would recommend. We camped here for a long weekend with a group of our friends and had such a wonderful time. The creek was lovely in May and super close to camp. It feels like you’re out in the middle of nowhere but you’re only about 15 minutes from town, which is also lovely in its own right. Thank you so much Stephen for everything!

Hipcamper Stephen
Response from Stephen, the Host, on May 5th, 2021

Sara and her friends were delightful guests. Glad they enjoyed their private gathering at our nature sanctuary. Hope to see them back real soon!

Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Jenita

Thankful for this thanksgiving camp

Jenita V.
recommends this listing.
November 29th, 2020

Nice spot! We had a great time. The site well kept and easy to find. The picnic table, fire pit and "facilities" were clean and looked new. It got down into the low 20s at night so we went through a lot of firewood and were so thankful for the heat. The site gets full sun so that was perfect for cold days, but I'm thinking it will be hot in summer so bring a pop up if you're booking in summer. There is a drinking water faucet but it's shut off during winter since the pipes freeze. Overall it was a fun place for us to spend Thanksgiving with our quaranteam and dogs. We had a great time and Stephen was a really good host too. He was in contact before we arrived and came out incthe cold to do a socially distanced welcome to make sure we had everything we needed. I highly recommend booking this HipCamp! :)

shady oaksshady oaksshady oaksshady oaks
Hipcamper Stephen
Response from Stephen, the Host, on November 30th, 2020

Jenita and her friends were perfect guests! Hope to see them again sometime.

Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Dominic

Lots of privacy! great 4 groups.

Dominic O.
recommends this listing.
October 19th, 2020

Stephen was a great host. He was super accommodating and was very communicative. We had a group of us with a friend who is a DJ, so we had a generator and play some music, which was wonderful! This was one of the only hipcamps that we've found where we're able to play music!

The camping site is great! The Blue Lakes and Mendocino lakes are about 40 minutes away and are wonderful. Blue Lakes costs $25 per person and pet, unless you park along the road and walk in.

The site was great! It could use some more trees for shade as it's super hot there (October) during the day, but if you bring an EZ up you'll be all good! The picnic table was very nice.

Also, the water faucet wasn't working. Especially during these hot days, it's best to unlist that as a feature or make sure it's fixed. We prepared and brought our own water jugs in.

No reception at the site, unless you drive 5 minutes up the road, so that was great. Willits is super close which is lovely to pick up more supplies.

Stephen's firepit and outhouse bathroom were great.

My only suggestion would be to get rid of the extra $25 per person pricing. The camping trip was a little pricey for a 2-night stay. We had 6 of us for 2 nights, and it was $343 total. In our opinion, this was definitely a little pricey. It's almost like booking an Airbnb.

Otherwise, it was wonderful. Stephen was great! And the pictures actually don't do it justice. The site is a lot larger than it looks. Great for groups!

Thanks Stephen!

Hipcamper Stephen
Response from Stephen, the Host, on November 30th, 2020

We enjoyed hosting Dominic's Group and glad that we have such a private campsite where they can Play their music at any volume level and have up to 40 guests . The drinking water is usually on at all times except during freezing weather in the winter. Sorry Dominic; it was just a glitch that the water happened to be off at that time. If I had known about the problem, I could have taken care of it immediately. Welcome back anytime!

Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Rachel

Nice but to expensive

Rachel N.
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
September 8th, 2020

It was a pasture we were the only ones there. Never met the host. Bathroom was a drop toilet but clean, all in all a decent place to camp but not worth paying for 3 people (2 adults. 1 - 2 year old to camp for a night) price should be per campsite not per person.

Hipcamper Stephen
Response from Stephen, the Host, on October 18th, 2020

Thanks for staying with us. There are no animals in the meadow, so it is not a "pasture." Children 3 and under are free.

Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Jonathan
Jonathan H.
recommends this listing.
September 7th, 2020

This is a nice camp site. We arrived at maybe the hottest weekend in the year but Stephen gave us directions to a nice (small) river to spend the afternoon. Campsite was easy to find, and as promised. The outhouse is basic but clean and functional. The other campsite was empty but if it were full there is enough space for some privacy. There are quite a few bees here if that bothers you (it was fine for us). We saw a few deer and the stars were amazing. We purchased firewood from Stephen and he left us kindling, and it burned very well. All in all, a great weekend.

Hipcamper Aaron
Aaron N.
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
September 6th, 2020

The campground was not bad. It was a little wierd there was a faucet for running water. That night I used it. But tried to use it again in the morning and it would not turn on. It was not a bad place I just don't think it is worth the price. It was my wife and I and our daughter. But because we are being charged 25 bucks a head that is $75 for the night. If I had realized that I would have just got a motel. It should just be 40 or 50 for the site. Like all other campgrounds in the world.

Hipcamper Stephen
Response from Stephen, the Host, on October 18th, 2020

Yes,the water comes from a faucet, just like in your house. Don't know of another way to deliver it? Sorry that it was not on the next day. Our pricing structure is in line with Ca. state campgrounds and much cheaper than KOA.

Remove vote :(
Lightworks ranch
United States
1 Site