Hipcamp host John S.,
Hosted by
John has self-certified that Hipcamp’s COVID-19 Safety Standards have been implemented at this listing. See what’s being done here.

OPEN AGAIN!!  One of the best swimming holes in Arkansas and it is all yours!!   Set on an island on the North Fork of  Cadron Creek -- central Arkansas' premier Class II whitewater river! -- this get-away-from-it-all cabin sleeps four  and an adjoining campsite allows for as many as 8 more people to  have  the  entire swimming hole all to yourselves.   This is the way to sp


OPEN AGAIN!!  One of the best swimming holes in Arkansas and it is all yours!!   Set on an island on the North Fork of  Cadron Creek -- central Arkansas' premier Class II whitewater river! -- this get-away-from-it-all cabin sleeps four  and an adjoining campsite allows for as many as 8 more people to  have  the  entire swimming hole all to yourselves.   This is the way to spend your summer days in Arkansas!  Inside the two-story cabin you have a long cabinet/bar with storage, a small table, and chairs.  Downstairs there is twin size bunk bed  and in the up-ladder loft there is a full size futon.   Outside there is a full length front porch with rocking chairs; and, upstairs a sliding glass door leads to a balcony overlooking the creek.     A nearby picnic table, fire ring, charcoal grill, and lamp hook allow you to bring it all outside and wrap yourself in nature.  A stone trail leads to the water where you can splash and swim, jacuzzi in Sarah's Wave, bask in the sun atop Jump Rock, float to Professor's Pool -- we offer boat rental and shuttles -- or simply enjoy the marvelous works and wonders.  Visitors are also encouraged to wander and explore any of the trails that criss-cross the 100 acre park.  You'll find waterfalls, goat bluffs, and even a nine hole frisbee golf course,  Downwind of the cabin and away from the river there is a sanitized porta-potty.  One can also obtain tokens ($3-5) to use the shower house at Camp Toasty (a short walk up to the ridge overlooking the creek).   Whether looking for a lonely weekend for two, a great place for a small group of friends, or a family-fun, creekin' adventure with the kids, Pinnacle Springs Cabin is the place for it to happen.   

FAQs:  PRIMITIVE -- The cabin does NOT come with electricity or water -- it is off grid!!  However both electricity and water are available -- electricity can be obtained via solar panels, 400AmpH power inverter or a generator (only when campground is otherwise unoccupied).  Moreover electrical outlets for recharging phones, etc. can be found throughout the property -- Camp Toasty, store, bunkhouse, etc.  Primo filtered mineral water is also available inside the cabin and is provided by use of 5-gallon jug and hand pump.  Fans, propane heaters, gas stoves and "kitchen kits" are also available.

RESPONSE TIME - We have day jobs!    We do not have a full time staff to always be available to meet and greet our guests especially after hours and on week days.  Thus, if full time staffing and coddling is required -- this is not the place!    This is DIY camping -- and if you can't "do it yourself" then perhaps there are better places to be.  Even if in doubt:  please camp elsewhere.   

WELCOMING PARTY:  Once you have made a reservation through HipCamp -- you are good to go.  Feel free to ask questions and make inquiries for additional information but anticipate we will be practicing "social distancing" and will likely not even visit your campsite once you are on location.  Again, this is DIY - "do it yourself" camping so if new to primitive camping this is NOT the place to visit.  That isn't to say we aren't here to assist to you but in the absence of such need our goal is to simply "stay away".   We do have an information table at the front gate where you can pick up maps and guides or leave us a message -- disinfectant is available at the table -- so you may find we aren't really even needed anyway.TRASH:   Leave no trace.  If we remove any trash from the site following your visit you will be charged a $25 cleaning fee.   No exceptions.

CAMPFIRES:  Campfires are prohibited unless you brought in your own wood or purchased a vet pack of wood from the store -- the use of downfall, dead trees and fallen limbs is unacceptable.   Burning up our property -- even dead limbs and leaves -- and destroying habitat for lizards, salamanders and bugs will get you permanently banned from our properties.  That said -- we have ample firewood to serve all our campers.  We usually deliver firewood to your campsite in the late afternoon on the weekends -- if the sun is setting and we still haven't visited please feel free to pick up a bundle outside the store.  Those that have purchased a vet pack of wood can also take as much fire wood as they may need from any of the designated stacks on the property -- three stacks currently at Camp Toasty.  Everyone else -- keep your hands off.  

WATER:  The spigot creekside at the campground is currently closed to use.  Rather two water spigots exist for guests to use:  1)  one behind the store and shop at the gate and 2) the other behind the bunk house -- the building off to the left as you enter the campground.   One is also invited to enjoy water from Pinnacle Springs.  All these are free for you to use 24/7.  

TRAILS:  All trails are open but we are getting more reports of "ticks" especially when wandering off trail -- thus we encourage the use of repellents and a nightly "tick check".   Like most of Arkansas we also have patches of poison ivy and stinging nettle; however, it is our goal to eradicate such plants where they border trails, roads or campsites so if such is observed please bring to our attention and we'll eradicate it.

WILDLIFE:  There is only thing more important to us than you and that is our wildlife that we live with year round.  At this time we have nesting turkeys in the woods and nesting geese and ducks on the water.  Deer and beaver are also abundant.  The family of beavers below Playground Shoals are particularly friendly -- be slow and nice and they'll swim right alongside your boat and even splash you with their tail.  So DO NOT DISTURB THE WILDLIFE!!   The only exception:  if you were to find a poisonous snake on the property -- please inform us so that we can relocate it to a place where fewer people gather.  Most importantly -- please enjoy being surrounded by nature's marvelous works and wonders.  Unwind.   Kick back.  And enjoy!

LASTLY -- NO saws, axes or shovels.  We like our place just the way it is!  If you are caught harming flora or fauna or damaging the land in any way you will be asked to leave.  On that you have our guarantee.

Additional amenities that are available -- 1)  Solar electricity -- $20/day -- allows one to recharge phones or power CPAP machine, etc. -- no ovens or blow dryers unless you want to run out of juice really fast  and 2) WiFi -- $10/day, unlimited usage.  

Lodging provided
1 site
Up to 12 guests per site
Park at listing
No wheelchair access
Campfires allowed
Toilet available
Pets allowed
Potable water available
Kitchen available
Showers available
Picnic table available
Bins available
No wifi
Have a question? Send John a message!
  • Check in: After 2PM
  • Check out: Before 12PM
  • Cancellation policy: Moderate
  • On arrival: Meet and greet
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 12 months out
  • Response time: Within 6 hours
  • Response rate: 80%

You know what would make this trip even better?

Take advantage of these offers available to add to your trip to Pinnacle Springs Cabin


Firewood bundle

Start your trip off right with a bundle of firewood waiting for you at your c...Read more

Add to trip

Healing Springs of Arkansas

Led by a professional geologist and naturalist this guided tour focuses on th...Read more

Add to trip

Primo Fountain Mineral Water (5 gal

Now you can take great-tasting water almost anywhere with the Primo® portable...Read more

Add to trip

Propane Heater - Large (18,000btu)

The Most popular portable propane heater in North America. This patented radi...Read more

Add to trip

Propane Heater - Small (Tent Size)

The Buddy FLEX Portable Omni-Directional Radiant Heater incorporates the indo...Read more

Add to trip


Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Whitewater paddling
Wildlife watching


Natural features you'll find at Pinnacle Springs Cabin in Arkansas.

River, stream, or...
Swimming hole

49 Reviews

This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Nicole
Nicole L.
recommends this listing.
October 24th, 2021

Great cabin- beautiful views, right on the creek and grounds well maintained.

If your needing somewhere to unwind this is the place!

Hipcamper Katie
Katie B.
recommends this listing.
September 14th, 2021


Hipcamper Rachel
Rachel H.
recommends this listing.
August 27th, 2021

The Pinnacle Springs Cabin was such a treat this past week! My partner and I were alone on the campgrounds with our dogs and it was pure joy. John was super responsive and helpful. While the cabin is off grid there are plenty of things there to make you feel comfortable. Thanks John!

Hipcamper Erika

Magical place to get away

Erika H.
recommends this listing.
August 10th, 2021

This is a lovely little cabin right on the water. It's primitive, completely off-grid and so peaceful! This is a great place to get away from the rush of day to day life. We only saw a few people the 3 days we were there. The balconies are the best part, there was usually a nice breeze and they are surrounded by old trees looking down the bank on the creek. John is the best, super friendly and helpful with the nicest pigs I ever saw.

Pinnacle Springs Cabin
Hipcamper Derek

Left due to negligence

Derek G.
doesn't recommend this listing.
July 25th, 2021

We were told there would be an option for electricity and showers. John stopped communicating with us after we asked to please upgrade the cabin with electricity since there were no screens on the windows to the cabin which left us covered in mosquitos and very hot. We were never greeted nor given any instructions on where to shower. We ended up leaving around midnight the second night to purchase a hotel on top of what we had already paid for the cabin since our two children were crying from so many bug bites even after we applied bug spray. Ultimately we felt neglected and we would have stayed somewhere else if we knew that electricity would not have been an option. It put us in a very uncomfortable place with two kids which forced us to leave and find lodging elsewhere.

Hipcamper John
Response from John, the Host, on July 26th, 2021

So sorry you weren't able to have a good time while staying at Pinnacle Springs Campground. I apologize we weren't able to greet you upon arrival -- we stayed up until 11pm at least waiting but we both have day jobs and feared staying up any later would throw us off the following day. However I did take the time to walk down to the cabin the following morning to say "hi" while working on the road but found everyone sound asleep. It was only after we had left the property -- and the state -- that you then requested any electrical power -- and we weren't going to drive 200 miles out of our way to serve your needs. I guess your "pay back" was to leave a lot of trash in and around the cabin, windows open with furniture sitting outside with rain in the forecast, and cigarette butts everywhere. This simply isn't the place for high maintenance and high environmental impact campers...a total "mismatch" for sure. But I have refunded your money in full with a request you never again visit us.

Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Jennifer
Jennifer B.
recommends this listing.
July 18th, 2021

Such a pleasant stay in this beautiful cabin! I did bring some things, so that it would be pretty and comfy. Great trip with family, floated all day and woke up the next to some fishing.

Pinnacle Springs CabinPinnacle Springs CabinPinnacle Springs CabinPinnacle Springs Cabin
Hipcamper John


John K.
recommends this listing.
July 1st, 2021

We had a great stay! Weather was perfect. Beautiful.

Hipcamper Shelly
Shelly K.
recommends this listing.
June 20th, 2021

I just want to thank John at Pinnacle springs cabin at Cadron Creek Outfitters, as well as Bob. I highly recommend this cabin and this area. It's breathtaking every morning when the sun comes up and it's so relaxing when the sun goes down. The sounds of wildlife rock you gently to sleep. You can see what this place means to John, the owner, and why. Bob is kinda the man on staff 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Ready and willing to answer any questions one might have. I love it here and will most definitely be back. Thanks again guys for an amazing experience.

Shelly Keathley

Pinnacle Springs CabinPinnacle Springs CabinPinnacle Springs CabinPinnacle Springs Cabin
Hipcamper Randy

Everything was just perfect

Randy O.
recommends this listing.
June 14th, 2021

Everything was just perfect as always.
Looking forward to my next visit.

Pinnacle Springs Cabin
United States
1 Site