Hipcamp host Amanda S.,
Hosted by
Amanda has self-certified that Hipcamp’s COVID-19 Safety Standards have been implemented at this listing. See what’s being done here.

Nestled in the Ouachita National Forest, Our campgrounds are right next to the Ouachita River! Fall asleep to the sounds of the river. Fish or swim right from our dock!We offer canoe, kayak, and tube rentals and shuttles on the property!45 minutes from Hot Springs, 40 minutes from Mena, we are close to Crystal mining, ATV trails, and 3 IMBA epic mountain bike trails!

Campsite area
Bring your own tents, vans and truck campers
14 sites
Up to 4 guests per site
Park at listing
Wheelchair access
Campfires allowed
Toilet available
Pets allowed
Potable water available
Showers available
Picnic table available
Bins available
No kitchen
No wifi
Laundry absent
Camping vehicle details
No electrical hookup
No water hookup
No sewage hookup
No TV hookup
Generators not allowed
Pull-in site
Max length 32ft
Surface type: grass or field
Surface levelness: requires leveling
Doesn't accommodate slideouts
Have a question? Send Amanda a message!
  • Check in: After 2PM
  • Check out: Before 12PM
  • Cancellation policy: Moderate
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 12 months out
  • Weeknight discount: 15% off


Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Off-roading (OHV)
Wildlife watching


Natural features you'll find at Ouachita River Primitive Camping in Arkansas.

River, stream, or...

23 Reviews

This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Tammy

It was terrible

Tammy T.
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Dispersed site)
September 24th, 2021

It was peaceful during the day, but when it hit nighttime, the noise started. We dealt withbitvtil 10.01 and i messaged the owner, she I assumed, went and spoke with them but not 20 mins later they started up again and it lasted ALL night long. Along with them and dogs constantly barking all around you all night long we did not get any sleep. Also, the showers are horrible, i refused to take a shower in them. It looks like they have not maintained them for a very long time. The restrooms werent bad but could use some updating. The customer def needs to know upfront about all of the dogs and their constant barking before they book this place. And lastly, i tried to contact the owner several times before we got there and i got nothing! Not until i made the complaint about all of the noise, those people were walking down around the camps and creek at all hours of the night, that did not make me feel very safe that night.

Hipcamper Amanda
Response from Amanda, the Host, on September 26th, 2021

This was Tammy’s first time using Hipcamp-this was apparent. We ARE pet friendly, so there are pets on the property. We do have a quiet time that begins at 10 pm (this guest began complaining at 8:30, a bit too early to ask other guests to quiet down for someone else’s sleeping habits). We do respond to guests who contact us prior to their visit-however this guest was asking payment questions (which are a Hipcamp question, not a host question) and she was informed of that. She also did reach out to let us know they were an hour out..which we did not feel the need to respond to. We do appreciate feedback about our showers, they are older and we purchased this property nearly a year ago. They are top priority. All in all, we have 5 star reviews from all of our other guests, and after discussing with Hipcamp it was determined the guest is not suitable for camping in general, and should better acquaint themselves with Hipcamp prior to making another booking at a different host location.

Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Josh
Josh S.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
July 20th, 2021

Beautiful sites on the river. We had the best spot in the haven, I was told. But really there where quite a few spots that looked amazing!

Hipcamper Allison
Allison M.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
July 4th, 2021

We had an excellent stay at Ouachita River Haven! We loved our camp site and the weather was great. The hosts were kind and accommodating. They are obviously working hard to create a fun and inviting atmosphere for their guests. They were always around and always helpful. They fulfilled any requests quickly and kindly. Our camp site was beautiful and backed up right onto the river. We also rented a canoe and had a great experience! It was a really fun trip and we would highly recommend this site to any one who asks.

Ouachita River Primitive CampingOuachita River Primitive CampingOuachita River Primitive CampingOuachita River Primitive Camping
Hipcamper marissa
Marissa B.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
July 4th, 2021

This is a fantastic little hidden gem! We didn’t know what to expect but it was relaxing and fun. Great place for any type of group

Hipcamper Grant
Grant H.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
June 29th, 2021

Beautiful space and very nice and personable hosts. Would definitely recommend and I’ve already planned my next trip back!

Hipcamper Taylor

Home on the river

Taylor B.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
June 22nd, 2021

The entire primitive camping experience was amazing. I came here for my 21st birthday with some of my bestfriends! This camp site has super helpful and friendly staff, and the people who own the land are so kind and the energy they put off onto their property is so pure and full of positive energy! They offer wood, Ice, and their bathhouses are efficient and overall well kept, as well as I thought it was especially great that they use high quality toilet paper in their bathrooms! These people put time and effort into making your stay feel as carefree as possible and are amazing hosts! My friends and I will definitely be back again for this campground! They offer tons of activities for you to do on the river, and the property for camping is very well maintained! The staff is hard working and efficient if I ever needed anything they were there almost 24/7 with friendly advice and help with whatever I needed! I have camped a lot of places but the ouachita river haven doesn’t just feel like another campsite.. it feels like your home in the woods. #campsitewithsoul We will be back! <3

Hipcamper Chloe
Chloe M.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
June 19th, 2021

Very nice folks, greeted us and made sure we were all set when checking in. Beautiful area too!

Hipcamper Selvin

Beautiful spot on the river!

Selvin D.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
June 18th, 2021

Amanda was a great host!
I camp with my 2 dogs during the week and there wasn't anybody there until the weekend. This was a beautiful place! There's several sites, some are next to the river and the rest were a short walk with varies of ways to the river. The river is slow enough to find several swim holes but there are currents. The shuttle service and kayak rental are available during the week. This made the trip. I had my kayak and shuttled upriver for 2 hour trips back to site. We had a blast!

campsite #14. Fire pit, water, grill, lantern post, and trash can at site.Our camp site. #14Ouachita riverOur boat ride down the Ouachita river.
Hipcamper Danielle

10/10 all the way around!

Danielle N.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
June 14th, 2021

This was the perfect getaway on a long road trip!
For starters I couldn’t fit in my assigned spot with my Uhaul so one of the employees helped me choose a new one. When I got there I was worried it would get too hot but there was plenty of shade for the pups and me. It was quiet and secluded but had a nice walking path all the way around the camp, where I met other campers. The river was beautiful and I caught several fish (sunfish and catfish) with minimal effort. There were bathrooms and showers (primitive) only a few minutes walk away and access to kayaks and tubes to play in the river (I did not use but saw them) as well as a volleyball court and more.

Amanda S.’s Land
United States
14 Sites