Hipcamp host Lloyd D.,
Hosted by
Lloyd has self-certified that Hipcamp’s COVID-19 Safety Standards have been implemented at this listing. See what’s being done here.

Our property is surrounded by the Otways forest and native Australian bush. Under 2 hours from Melbourne, and only 10-15minutes drive from the Otway Harvest Trail. 

Find a spot to park your van, tent, camper trailer or caravan on our beautiful natural piece of secluded bush, and you won't see or hear another soul. You may spot lots of birds and wildlife, or enjoy the b

Read more...

Our property is surrounded by the Otways forest and native Australian bush. Under 2 hours from Melbourne, and only 10-15minutes drive from the Otway Harvest Trail. 

Find a spot to park your van, tent, camper trailer or caravan on our beautiful natural piece of secluded bush, and you won't see or hear another soul. You may spot lots of birds and wildlife, or enjoy the beautiful view from the road. 

Please note: this is a spot for people such as hikers who appreciate nature and understand the concept of ‘leave no trace’. It’s not for parties or big groups. There are absolutely no facilities (no water, no toilet) so you need to be totally self-sufficient and take all your waste and rubbish with you (no digging holes for toilet please!)

We are happy to accommodate up to 8 ppl, but please take everything with you, and leave our beautiful wilderness spot exactly as you left it, don't destroy the native vegetation and don't feed the wildlife. Fires only in the fire-pit please and must be totally extinguished (with water, so bring extra) before you leave, and not on fire ban days. You must BYO firewood and take all your rubbish away with you. Extra charges will apply for any rubbish, food scraps etc left on site.

Enjoy!

RV only area
Vans and truck campers, trailers, RVs
1 site
Up to 12 guests per site
Park at listing
Wheelchair access
Essentials
Campfires allowed
Pets allowed
No toilet
Amenities
Picnic table available
No potable water
No kitchen
No showers
No wifi
Remove your rubbish
Laundry absent
Camping vehicle details
No electrical connection
No water connection
No sewage dump point
No TV connection
Generators not allowed
Have a question? Send Lloyd a message!
  • Check in: After 12PM
  • Check out: Before 12PM
  • Cancellation policy: Strict
  • On arrival: Go straight to camp
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 12 months out
  • Weeknight discount: 25% off

You know what would make this trip even better?

Take advantage of these offers available to add to your trip to Secluded Otways Forest Camp

AU$5
Experience

Extra guests

To book extra guests (up to 12 total) for your booking please check with us f...Read more

Add to trip
Remove
0
max

Activities

Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Biking
Hiking
Wildlife watching

Terrain

Natural features you'll find at Secluded Otways Forest Camp in Victoria.

Forest
Mountainous
Farm

Places to see near Secluded Otways Forest Camp

22 Reviews

This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Brooke

Awesometastic!

Brooke C.
recommends this listing.
November 27th, 2021

So peaceful, beautiful and secluded.
It was exactly the getaway my partner and I needed.

Hipcamper Joel
Joel B.
recommends this listing.
November 21st, 2021

Such a beautiful property - your own hidden oasis in the bush! Great location and Lloyd is a terrific host. Highly recommend!

Hipcamper Brennan
Brennan O.
recommends this listing.
November 3rd, 2021

Very nice and secluded. Lovely forest views. We saw one person whole weekend. Probably need 4wd to get to the camp, especially if it’s been raining.

Thank you! Beautiful stay.

Hipcamper Anthony

Peaceful, relaxing and secluded!

Anthony L.
recommends this listing.
August 23rd, 2021

We had a great stay, it was peaceful and quiet. Surrounded by bushland it was just what we needed for a weekend escape away from everything! Lloyd was a great and super helpful host.
We will definitely be staying here again.

Hipcamper Lloyd
Response from Lloyd, the Host, on August 23rd, 2021

Thanks so much Anthony, so glad you had a good time! Welcome back anytime.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper bram

Terrible experience - dangerous.

Bram K.
doesn't recommend this listing.
August 17th, 2021

I drive a camper van.
I drove onto the site, went forward two car lengths and was immediately bogged. Stuck. $200 tow and 4 hours later i was out. I messaged lloyd for help and after hearing i was stuck with no way out, messaged me back to say he couldn't answer the phone right then. So NO help at all. The tow truck driver in a 4WD designed for this work, refused to enter the property, stating if anyone went in, there was no driving back out. It looks fine, but is like quicksand. Lloyd has only recently purchased the property and knew nothing about it, didn't even have local numbers for assistance.
The caravan wreck on-site looks like its been used as a hang out by local teens.
Hicamp needs to start vetting these sites.

Hipcamper Lloyd
Response from Lloyd, the Host, on August 23rd, 2021

Dear Bram, we're so sorry you didn't have a good experience at our block, and so sorry you got bogged. As we mentioned at the time, we were not able to come and help you get un-bogged because we were stuck in Melbourne due to the COVID-19 lockdown, unable to travel to regional Victoria. When we learned you were stuck, we gave you the phone numbers of the local shop and RACV to try and help out, and again, so sorry we weren't there in person. We will make sure to remind all future guests to check for recent rain and be very mindful of the risk of getting bogged. Our other recent bookings haven't reported any issues, but we'll make sure to inspect the site entrances thoroughly when we're next able to get down there to do maintenance. We will give you a full refund for your booking given you had such a rough time, again we're so sorry! Lloyd.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Daniel
Daniel N.
recommends this listing.
July 24th, 2021

Great campsite with beautiful views secluded amongst eucalyptus forest.

Hipcamper Lloyd
Response from Lloyd, the Host, on August 23rd, 2021

Thanks Daniel and we're glad you liked it.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Edie

Easy abundance

Edie B.
recommends this listing.
June 28th, 2021

This place was such a perfect pocket of bush and views, straddling the otways/ Kulin Nation forest and cleared sheep paddocks to watch the sunrise over. It is clearly being cared for, and minimal impact will help preserve the abundance of native grasses and bird life. We stayed one night, made use of the shelter and picnic table when it was raining, and were comfortable bring our own water and taking out all waste.
Only downside was being so relaxed, one of us left a very sentimental wooden eating spoon - if any future visitors find it, please tell Lloyd!
High recommend, we’ll be back.

Hipcamper Lloyd
Response from Lloyd, the Host, on August 23rd, 2021

Thanks so much Edie, so sorry you left your spoon! We've asked a few subsequent guests to look out for it but unfortunately none of them have spotted it :(

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper JACKSON

Nailed it...

Jackson T.
recommends this listing.
May 23rd, 2021

Not sure I want to make this public, for fear of it being booked out the next trip we do... but damn! What a spot!!

Totally private location, surrounded beautiful scenery and a short drive from Deans Marsh/ Lorne.

One of the best sites I've come across, and will definitely be back again! Thanks for having us mate!!

Secluded Otways Forest Camp
Hipcamper Lloyd
Response from Lloyd, the Host, on August 23rd, 2021

Thanks so much Jackson and thanks for the photo! Happy to have you back anytime.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Inca
Inca D.
recommends this listing.
May 23rd, 2021

Just perfect for a one night getaway

Property
Secluded Otways Forest Camp
State
Victoria
Country
Australia
AU$30/night
1 Site

Lists including Secluded Otways Forest Camp

108 camps including The Big Lake - Exclusive Group Site and Gamaay Dreaming Track 4WD C...