Our home is located in Emigrant, Montana. We are approx. 34 miles from YNP and less than 10 minutes to the nearest Yellowstone River access. As the name implies, our campsite provides a convenient "base-camp" for exploring YNP or experiencing the Yellowstone River through Fly Fishing or water sports such as kayaking, white water rafting, canoeing and or SUP. Our campsite pro

Read more...

Our home is located in Emigrant, Montana. We are approx. 34 miles from YNP and less than 10 minutes to the nearest Yellowstone River access. As the name implies, our campsite provides a convenient "base-camp" for exploring YNP or experiencing the Yellowstone River through Fly Fishing or water sports such as kayaking, white water rafting, canoeing and or SUP. Our campsite provides the perfect retreat after hiking and experiencing Yellowstone. After spending the day doing whatever you please in Paradise Valley or the surrounding areas, come back to your campsite and relax in the hot tub and prepare dinner on the BBQ & Star Gaze. In Emigrant, there is a bank and a post office as well as a bakery and a BBQ restaurant and The Old Saloon. Additionally, there is a small gas station, laundromat and a general store.

We offer 20Amp electrical-hook up.  We do offer water hook up through a hose. The nearest dump station is 1/2 hour in either direction ( Gardiner or Livingston). There are no on site outdoor showers or bathrooms; you must be totally self sufficient in that area. We Have a 15 yr. old deaf beagle on premises. Ken Leaves for work Sun.- Thur. around 4:00 AM. We also rent a room in our house, so other guests may be on site.

RV only area
Vans and truck campers, trailers, RVs
1 site
Up to 4 guests per site
Park at listing
No ADA access
Essentials
Pets allowed
No campfires
No toilet
Amenities
Potable water available
Picnic table available
Wifi available
No kitchen
No showers
Remove your rubbish
Laundry absent
Camping vehicle details
Electrical connection available
Water connection available
Generators allowed
No sewage dump point
No TV connection
Back-in site
Max length 45ft
Accommodates slideouts
Surface type: grass or field
Surface levelness: requires leveling
  • Check in: After 3PM
  • Check out: Before 11AM
  • Cancellation policy: Strict
  • On arrival: Meet and greet
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 12 months out
  • Response time: Within 6 hours

Activities

Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Snow sports

CC skiing, snowshoeing at mill creek. Bridger Bowl is 1.5 hours away.

Biking
Boating
Fishing
Hiking
Horseback riding
Paddling
Wind sports
Climbing
Swimming
Whitewater paddling
Wildlife watching

Terrain

Natural features you'll find at Yellowstone NP & River Base Camp in Montana.

Swimming hole

Yellowstone River

Waterfall

Pine creek falls

Hot spring
Lake
Mountainous
River, stream, or...
Driveway

3 Reviews

This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Lydi

Expensive boondocking

Lydi L.
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
August 22nd, 2021

PROS:
Yellowstone NP North Entrance was an easy drive, about 40 min away.
Cute general store in town with most things you could need and yummy bbq/bakery very close by.
Debbie was friendly and welcoming and gave clear directions to their property.

CONS:
The slope of the driveway and yard were such that it was impossible for us to get anywhere near level. It was so extreme that our baby couldn’t even walk inside our RV without falling. This would have been a major issue if we had spent any real time there, but was manageable because we were at the NP each day til dark and then went to bed.

The electricity is just running an extension cord to their house and was barely able to power our fridge, let alone anything else.
Power went out at the property for the entire second day/night of our stay. The hosts didn’t call or message us to let us know this had happened, so we came home late at night to no power. Luckily we have a good generator so we were able to use that until bedtime, but it made for a hot and stuffy night not being able to turn on a fan, or open windows due to the smoke/terrible air quality.

They had a hot tub but we couldn’t use it since we’d have no way to shower after (nowhere to dump tanks, and showering 4 people would fill the grey tank instantly so I can’t speak to that.

We had to drive almost 30 miles out of our way to find a place to dump our tanks.

Overall this felt more like “moochdocking” or boondocking. This was our first stay with Hipcamp and not at all what I would expect for $65/night (Plus fees). If I were the host, I would have offered to comp the second night since we were without power, which is essentially what we’re paying for I guess?

We wouldn’t stay here again and would not recommend, especially for anyone with a larger rig.

Hipcamper DEBBIE and KEN
Response from DEBBIE and KEN, the Host, on August 23rd, 2021

Moving forward, I would agree that our Hip Camp location was not good fit for your family or an RV of your size (38 feet) as "new" RV travelers. We clearly state on our Hip Camp page that we only provide water and 20 amp electric and specify that it is not enough power to run an AC and we send out a reminder in our arrival instructions about this as well. On our Hip Camp page we clearly note "Surface levelness : requires leveling" and while we only currently host 1 group at a time we have 4 camping site to choose from; one on a cement pad. I pointed them all out to your husband and he chose to park on the slanted driveway w/o leveling. Not to be repetitive but our Hip Camp page clearly indicated that we have no showers so if you wanted to use the hot tub and take showers that should have been in your RV. We specify that we do not provide a dump station, again, on our Hip Camp page. The nearest dump station is a 1/2 hour in either direction (Gardiner or Livingston) NOT out of your way. We do regret that the electricity went out at about 6 pm and came on again at 1:45 am. Best wishes and in the future, it is really important to thoroughly read a Hip Camp site page to make sure it has everything you are looking for so you will not be disappointed.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Alicia

Close to an yellowstone np entrance

Alicia O.
recommends this listing.
August 19th, 2021

Debbie & Ken were such sweet and kind hosts! They introduced themselves as soon as I parked and showed me where the water hook up was. They even gave my dog a toy that she has absolutely loved playing with! Would highly recommend staying here if you’re traveling through this area!

Hipcamper DEBBIE and KEN
Response from DEBBIE and KEN, the Host, on August 23rd, 2021

Alicia it was a pleasure meeting you and your wonderfully hilarious dog blue. We really enjoyed meeting you both and seeing your new camper van. Best of luck with it. You are both welcome back anytime. It's always nice to meet kindred spirits who enjoy exploring our great outdoors.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Sherry
Sherry C.
recommends this listing.
July 7th, 2021

Beautiful views of Paradise Valley, short distance to amazing bbq, bakery, and live music.

Hipcamper DEBBIE and KEN
Response from DEBBIE and KEN, the Host, on August 23rd, 2021

Sherry was a wonderful guest with 2 playful dogs. We would welcome them all back anytime.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Property
YNP & River Basecamp
State
Montana
Country
United States
$65/night
1 Site

Lists including Yellowstone NP & River Base Camp

2088 camps including Caboose House in beautiful NY and Magic Meadow Cabin