Hipcamp host Chris  O.
Hosted by
Chris has self-certified that Hipcamp’s COVID-19 Safety Standards have been implemented at this listing. See what’s being done here.

High mountain plains in the Central Mountains of the Rocky Mtns. There are some hills on the property, great views of the surrounding mountains. This camp is very pristine and untouched mountain plains.  *Keep in mind, this is undeveloped, and pristine high country land.  I'm just letting folks camp on it until we can build it out nicely.  It's dry and a little windy at ti

Read more...

High mountain plains in the Central Mountains of the Rocky Mtns. There are some hills on the property, great views of the surrounding mountains. This camp is very pristine and untouched mountain plains.  *Keep in mind, this is undeveloped, and pristine high country land.  I'm just letting folks camp on it until we can build it out nicely.  It's dry and a little windy at times. Great for Spring and Summer camping. Approx. 50 miles from Breckenridge Co.. Just South of Hartsel.  We're planning to build a small outdoor concert stage.  We're breaking ground out here in 2020!  The outhouse is first!  --Enjoy!!

*Note:  I'm working campsites 4, 5 & 6

Campsite #4 -  a Tent or Backpacking campsite.  You NEED a 4 x 4 vehicle to drive up to these upper sites.  Go up the main Trail (to the left of the main campsite area) there's a dirt road/trail it curves around, and goes UP the Hill.  Follow it around to the Right when you get up the hill.  There's a nice campsite taking shape up there.  There's room for several more.  If Anyone reads this, and stays at site #4,5 or 6.. and sends me a photo of an improved Campsite, I'll personally comp your group a free stay for 2 nights next time you go camping.

Campsite area
Bring your own tents, trailers, RVs, vans and truck campers
4 sites
Up to 12 guests per site
Park at listing
ADA access
Essentials
Pets allowed
No campfires
No toilet
Amenities
Bins available
No potable water
No kitchen
No showers
No picnic table
No wifi
Camping vehicle details
No electrical hookup
No water hookup
No sewage hookup
No TV hookup
Have a question? Send Chris a message!
  • Check in: After 2PM
  • Check out: Before 12PM
  • Cancellation policy: Flexible
  • On arrival: Go straight to camp
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 3 months out

Activities

Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Fishing

There are plenty of lakes and rivers for fishing in Colorado. You're not too far from many right here.

Hiking

There are many places to hike the high country around this area along Hwy 9 and the surrounding areas.

Biking
Horseback riding
Paddling
Climbing
Snow sports
Whitewater paddling

Terrain

Natural features you'll find at Southern Co. Camping Sites in Colorado.

Desert
Forest
Mountainous
Prairie, meadow, ...

The vibe at Southern Co. Camping Sites

8 Written reviews
This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Taylor
Taylor L.
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
(Dispersed site)
August 18th, 2019

So, we couldn’t find the site. The gps coordinates led to an area that essentially led to the middle of a road then stopped. I would of had to leave the vehicle on the same road which would have posed a hazard to the surrounding residents living spread out across the area who use the dirt path.

Not really sure if it was our fault. Perhaps. But no markers and broad gpa coordinates, will only lead to an early exit. Which is what we chose to do.

Hipcamper Chris
Response from Chris , the Host, on July 6th, 2020

That was probably just bad, or poor gps coordinates. Though, we are in direct contact with anyone wanting to camp. Improved the driving directions, and have a mailbox address at the site now. Sorry for the poor experience, didn't even realize these comments were here. Thank you.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Nick

Great camping!

Nick S.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
July 7th, 2019

Beautiful property! Quiet and secluded. Views are great. The dirt road to the property is washboard but well maintained. There is a steep section of road on the property to access the spot but we made it fine in an RV. Would definitely recommend!

Hipcamper Brett
Brett S.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
May 2nd, 2020

A little tricky to find but very nice

Hipcamper Chris
Response from Chris , the Host, on July 6th, 2020

Thanks! I've improved the directions for folks, appreciate the feedback!

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Nathan

Will stay again

Nathan B.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
May 17th, 2020

Beautiful views all around and very helpful/responsive host. Will definitely camp here again. Absolutely BEAUTIFUL sunrise from the campsite.

Southern Co. Camping SitesSouthern Co. Camping SitesSouthern Co. Camping SitesSouthern Co. Camping Sites
Hipcamper WILLIAM P

Do not waste your money

William P S.
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Dispersed site)
May 25th, 2020

Do not waste your money or time on this spot. The address provided nor the GPS coordinates will get you there, especially arriving at night. Absolutely no signage, mailbox numbers etc. to aid in locating the spot. The roads to get there are 15 miles poorly maintained and extremely rough. This explains the other poor reviews. Not worth the hassle & a complete waste of $30. We have had better sites at half the price.

Hipcamper Chris
Response from Chris , the Host, on July 6th, 2020

The Drive is 10 MILES not 15. it's two turns, and not far from Country road 53 at all. The GPS coordinates were messed up by Hipcamp website, not me. It's easy to communicate with me, the host, and ask for directions. Couldn't be easier actually, sorry you didn't ask for directions. I've improved the directions for people, and even send an Aerial photo. Too bad you didn't give us a chance to help you find it.

Helpful
1
Helpful
1
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Nick
Nick B.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
May 25th, 2020

Great spot with beautiful views, we’ll definitely be back!

Southern Co. Camping SitesSouthern Co. Camping Sites
Hipcamper Chris
Response from Chris , the Host, on July 6th, 2020

Thank you! Enjoyed having you, for sure come back! We're hoping to improve the site in the coming years. Thanks again!

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Mark

Beautiful secluded property

Mark H.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
May 31st, 2020

Very secluded and private with great views

Hipcamper Ben

Awesome time!

Ben K.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
July 12th, 2020

Chris was extremely accommodating and the property had beautiful views! Can’t wait to go back. Easy to get to, plugging into Google maps makes it easier to navigate over Apple Maps.

Hipcamper Chris
Response from Chris , the Host, on August 5th, 2020

Thanks Ben! Glad to have you and your group! I look forward to more successful campout weekends! --Chris O.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Property
Burro Pass Ranch
State
Colorado
Country
United States
$30/night
4 Sites
Hipcamp is created with ❤️ and hope for our future