Hipcamp host Jessica H.
Hosted by
Jessica has self-certified that Hipcamp’s COVID-19 Safety Standards have been implemented at this listing. See what’s being done here.

Welcome to the Enchanted Forest Retreat! We are a meditation retreat center with 45 acres of some of the most gorgeous redwoods in the Santa Cruz mountains to enjoy hiking, creeks and small water fall exploration, mountain biking, wildlife viewing, star gazing, relaxation, meditation and more.

Our campground has running water from a natural spring, Men and Women's Rest

Read more...

Welcome to the Enchanted Forest Retreat! We are a meditation retreat center with 45 acres of some of the most gorgeous redwoods in the Santa Cruz mountains to enjoy hiking, creeks and small water fall exploration, mountain biking, wildlife viewing, star gazing, relaxation, meditation and more.

Our campground has running water from a natural spring, Men and Women's Restrooms each with 2 toilets and 1 hot water shower, laundry shed with sink and hot water, plugs for charging phones, one BBQ grill outside of the kitchen, and an outdoor amphitheater. We have meditation teaching at the amphitheater and campers are welcomed to attend for free.

25 minutes to Silicon Valley - 25 minutes to Santa Cruz Boardwalk we're centrally located in the south bay. Dogs and kids are welcome - dogs must be picked up after and kept on a leash if other campers are present.

Please note:  This is camping - there may be bugs, critters, dirt, unpredictable weather (pack for the cold, just in case - we get surprise fog often!), early sunrise, no cell data, etc etc. It's not the Hilton - but it is gorgeous. ;)

Shopping such as Safeway, Costco and the big box stores are 20 minutes away in Soquel; however, we have a charming little market (Summit Center) 3.5 miles away that has a great selection of groceries, drinks and hot foods, etc.

There are 6 (6 person) sites available in a separate listing plus this group site (up to 16 people). Please contact us if you're interested in renting for any events.

While we are not strictly ADA compliant, the facilities should be able to host most. Please feel free to reach out with any questions and we'll help however we can!

NOTICE REGARDING RVs and TRAILERS:  While we can not offer hookups, theoretically we have no problem with RVs - the reason we state we don't allow them is that the road is dirt and steep in a couple of places getting down to the campground and VERY narrow in one spot (10ft).  Our concern is that your RV and/or trailer will not make it down without damage and/or not make it back up at all!  If you feel you're willing to take this risk (we won't be held liable), you're welcome to reach out to us and we can see what is possible.

Site #1 - Well shaded.  Distant from other sites.  Room for 1 car.  An additional car can be parked in the overflow area. Has 1 picnic table.

Site #2 - Well shaded.  The most private of our sites.  Room for 1 car.  An additional car can be parked in the overflow area. Has 1 picnic table.

Site #3 - Well shaded, 2-level terraced site.  Fairly private but close to Site #4, if you are a group looking to be nearer to one another.  Room for 1 car.  An additional car can be parked in the overflow area. Has 1 picnic table.

Site #4 - Well shaded, 2-level terraced site.  Fairly private but close to Site #3, if you are a group looking to be nearer to one another.  Room for 1 car.  An additional car can be parked in the overflow area. Has 1 picnic table.

Site #5 - Very open, sunny and scrubby site.  Some shade in the morning as the early sun is rising and then very sunny the remainder of the day.  Room for 2 cars. Could be private or grouped with Sites 3 & 4. Has 1 picnic table.

Site #6 - A 2-level, mostly shaded site hidden amongst the trees, not far from 5 but feels very private.  Room for 2 cars.  Has 1 picnic table.  

Other Listing:

Group Site - Can fit 12-ish tents.  Please limit to 6 cars. Has 2 picnic tables.

Campsite area
Bring your own
7 sites
Up to 8 guests per site
Park at listing
No ADA access
Essentials
Toilet available
Pets allowed
Fire ban in effect
Amenities
Potable water available
Kitchen available
Showers available
Picnic table available
Bins available
Laundry present
No wifi
Have a question? Send Jessica a message!
  • Check in: After 2PM
  • Check out: Before 12PM
  • Cancellation policy: Moderate
  • On arrival: Go straight to camp
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 3 months out
  • Weeknight discount: 35% off

Activities

Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Biking

On property is limited but bikable - we are also very near the demonstration forest, which we're told has some fabulous mountai...Read more

Boating

Nearby in Santa Cruz and surrounding beaches.

Fishing

Santa Cruz Wharf is great for fishing as well as many other local areas. No fishing on property.

Hiking

On and off property. Big Basin and Henry Cowell parks are not far and well worth the visit!

Horseback riding

There are horse rentals/trails not far from here but we do not have our own. Horse camping would be possible but getting trail...Read more

Surfing

Nearby in Santa Cruz and surrounding beaches

Swimming

Nearby in Santa Cruz and surrounding beaches. Can also wade in our creek but wouldn't call it swimming!

Wildlife watching

Terrain

Natural features you'll find at Enchanted Forest Retreat w/Showers in California.

Coastal

12 miles to Capitola Beach and the Pacific Ocean.

Forest

New and old growth Redwoods throughout property.

River, stream, or creek

Creek runs through property and is accessible with a short hike.

Waterfall

Mini waterfall on the property. Fun, easy hike to get to.

Mountainous

The vibe at Enchanted Forest Retreat w/Showers

Places to see near The Enchanted Forest

57 miles away Explore
This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Jen
Jen B.
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Site 4)
August 12th, 2020

While the trees on Maraia's land were truly magnificent and just what our sheltered-weary souls needed, we were disappointed in the lack of attention given to Socially-Distanced protocols. The camp was crowded with many young people, many of whom were not wearing masks, especially in common areas. There was only one sign posted about wearing masks on the kitchen door, which was mostly going un-heeded and there were no other indications/reminders about maintaining physical distance. There was some evidence of "Staff," but no indication that there was anybody maintaining/cleaning the area or overseeing or enforcing COVID-19 Safety Standards. Also, we camped at site #4 which was in close proximity to site #3 and the campers, all of whom seemed to be high school students, were loud well past the 10pm noise curfew, which really detracted from the experience. Unfortunately, we left a day early because of these complaints and didn't get to fully enjoy the land.

As far as the protocols to which hosts agree (COVID-19 Host Safety Standards, https://support.hipcamp.com/hc/en-us/articles/360043415632), in this list of 10 standards, we saw non-compliance with 4 of them.

3. Adjust the space between sites or reduce occupancy at your property to ensure proper six-foot physical distancing.
Practice physical distancing by keeping at least six feet away from Hipcampers. Create highly visible, six-foot spacing indicators to help guests keep their distance between sites and at shared bathrooms, kitchen facilities, and other amenities.

there were no highly visible, 6-foot spacing indicators. not at the campsites, nor at the bathrooms, nor in the kitchen.

5. Limit or restrict access to certain high-risk shared amenities.
Establish a schedule to minimize the number of people using shared amenities at any one time. Close or prohibit access to shared amenities for which you’re unable to maintain a proper cleaning schedule.

there were no schedules posted.

6. Ensure your property has enough soap or hand sanitizer for all guests.
Create signage to encourage Hipcampers to regularly wash their hands for at least 20 seconds. Alcohol-based hand sanitizer should be made of at least 60% alcohol.

there was no signage to encourage this.

9. Update your listing to include expectations for safe camping at your property during COVID-19
Update your listing to explain your health and safety expectations—include what you've done to help make your property safer, as well as what you expect from your guests. It helps to also post these expectations onsite at your property.

the listing has no mention of any of this. there was also no posting of expectations on the property.

Hipcamper Tyler

Beautiful bay area forest getaway

Tyler W.
recommends this listing.
(Site 5)
June 29th, 2020

Maraia was an excellent host and the property is beautiful. I had a group of 13 spread out over sites 3, 4 and 5 and they are nicely situated above eachother on a graded sections of a hill. The group site was in view but sound didn’t carry very far so it kept a private feel. The creek nearby makes for a nice hike and the area was very clean! I plan to come back, especially with the convenient location off highway 17!

Hipcamper Jessica
Response from Jessica, the Host, on July 1st, 2020

Thanks for the kind review, Tyler! We enjoyed having you - your group is welcome back anytime!

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Michael
Michael A.
recommends this listing.
(Site 1)
June 29th, 2020

This place was awesome! Beautiful campsite right in the redwoods of Sanat Cruz mountains. Clean bathrooms with hot running water. The host was super chill and attentive. Definitely hope to return soon.

Enchanted Forest Retreat w/ShowersEnchanted Forest Retreat w/Showers
Hipcamper Jessica
Response from Jessica, the Host, on July 1st, 2020

Thanks so much, Michael! We loved having you. We'll look forward to your next visit! 😉

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Melissa

Wonderful hideaway in the trees!

Melissa W.
recommends this listing.
(Site 1)
July 1st, 2020

We were delighted with this place! The hosts were friendly. The facilities were clean. The surroundings were gorgeous. The property offered many opportunities for hiking and exploring. What more could you ask for? I can’t wait to go back!

Hipcamper Jessica
Response from Jessica, the Host, on July 1st, 2020

Thank you so much for the great review! We were happy to have you and look forward to hosting you again! ❤️

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Chloe

Amazing!

Chloe R.
recommends this listing.
(Site 2)
July 2nd, 2020

Amazing campsite! We had a great time at site #2 (right next to the bathrooms and kitchen). The site was large enough for both of our tents and had space to eat outside. The sites are also spread out and we had no sound issues (also very easy to social distance!). The bathrooms were very clean as were the shared amenities.

The campsite is also very close to lots of state parks and we had a great time hiking in the redwoods and hanging out on the beach!

Maraia is a great host and I hope we have a chance to come back!

Hipcamper Jessica
Response from Jessica, the Host, on July 2nd, 2020

So happy you had a great time! Thank you for the wonderful review... You're welcome back anytime! =D

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Audrey

Perfect camping getaway

Audrey W.
recommends this listing.
(Site 1)
July 5th, 2020

Nestled amongst redwoods, we couldn't have asked for a better place to spend the long weekend. Private enough with all the amenities. The toilets were clean and such a luxury to be able to have a shower (warm water!! shampoo & soap dispenser!!) after a long day out hiking nearby. Roads are narrow and steep in places so be careful when driving. We stayed at campsite #1 which is a slight climb up from the bathroom and communal kitchen, but is also more secluded and has its own water tap (super convenient!).
Thank you Maraia!

Hipcamper Jessica
Response from Jessica, the Host, on July 6th, 2020

You're so welcome - happy you had a great time! Thank you for the great review and for leaving the site in pristine condition! You're welcome back anytime!

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Karen
Karen A.
recommends this listing.
(Site 5)
July 6th, 2020

Beautiful redwoods, very kind hostess, clean bathrooms. We enjoyed our stay very much and would love to go back!

Hipcamper Jessica
Response from Jessica, the Host, on July 6th, 2020

Thank you, Karen! It was a pleasure having you - welcome back anytime!

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper David

Good campsite, good experience

David Q.
recommends this listing.
(Site 3)
July 6th, 2020

Overall, good campsite. Had clean bathrooms and kitchen area to wash dishes (has sink and refrigerator only, no stove). Has grill outside. One downside was that the campsite did not have a fire pit or picnic table. Looked like the tables were being made but not sure if they are planning on installing fire pit. Would be a great campsite if they fixed these two issues.

Hipcamper Jessica
Response from Jessica, the Host, on July 7th, 2020

Thanks for the feedback. We do have picnic tables in all the sites now, yahoo! but unfortunately, we have no intention of allowing open fires in the campground. While we absolutely agree that fires are fun to have, with fire season the way it is in California it's just not worth the risk. We hope you enjoyed your stay despite not having a fire! =)

Helpful
1
Helpful
1
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Alex
Alex B.
recommends this listing.
(Site 4)
July 6th, 2020

The Enchanted Forest was lovely! The campsites felt private and were kept well. We were specifically exploring Santa Cruz during the day, so the short 30 minute drive to SC was incredibly convenient. The bathroom was also well kept. Would highly recommend and stay again!

Enchanted Forest Retreat w/Showers
Hipcamper Jessica
Response from Jessica, the Host, on July 9th, 2020

Thanks for the nice review, Alex! Feel free to come back anytime!

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Property
The Enchanted Forest
State
California
Country
United States
$65/night
7 Sites

Safety at Hipcamp

Inclusion Policy

We have a zero-tolerance policy against discrimination at Hipcamp and are committed to helping our Host and Hipcamper community be inclusive.

Learn More
Hipcamp Hand

Hosting Standards

All Hosts should review and adhere to these standards around providing a positive Hipcamp experience, being a thoughtful neighbor, and serving as a responsible citizen.

Learn More

Hipcamper Standards

All Hipcampers should review and adhere to these standards for safety, trip preparation, and respect in order to uphold Hipcamp’s most important value: “leave it better.”

Learn More

Safety partners

Recreate Responsibly

  1. Know before you go
  2. Practice physical distancing
  3. Plan ahead
  4. Play it safe
  5. Explore locally
  6. Leave no trace
  7. Build an inclusive outdoors
Learn More

Leave No Trace

  1. Plan ahead and prepare
  2. Travel and camp on durable surfaces
  3. Dispose of waste properly
  4. Leave what you find
  5. Minimize campfire impacts
  6. Respect wildlife
  7. Be considerate of other visitors
Learn More

National Weather Service

We integrate with the National Weather Service to provide valuable fire advisories to Hosts and Hipcampers. Real-time Red Flag Warnings and Fire Weather Watch Warnings help keep our community safe.

Learn More
Hipcamp is created with ❤️ and hope for our future