Hipcamp host Dahlgren R.
Hosted by
Dahlgren has self-certified that Hipcamp’s COVID-19 Safety Standards have been implemented at this listing. See what’s being done here.
514 acres of coastal desert mountains. New shade structures, picnic tables, BBQs and food prep areas installed at the four main camp areas. I have changed booking to reserve specific camp number so no more first come first serve conflicts. Caretaker cleans up and checks on land once a week. New shade structures, picnic tables and cook prep areas built at each camp. The main acc
514 acres of coastal desert mountains. New shade structures, picnic tables, BBQs and food prep areas installed at the four main camp areas. I have changed booking to reserve specific camp number so no more first come first serve conflicts. Caretaker cleans up and checks on land once a week. New shade structures, picnic tables and cook prep areas built at each camp. The main access roads are back in good shape after grading work.  Pond is getting low. Still fishable. I still swim in it. I've set up private camps for small to large groups to enjoy at a fair price. My land has gotten popular and I have to set some ground rules. Pack out ur trash please, no exceptions. If you plan to leave litter around your camp and not clean up don't camp here. NO SHOOTING ALLOWED. All propane devices fine for use. NO FIRES UNTIL IT RAINS AGAIN. Dig a 6" cat hole for pooping and peeing. Bury your toilet paper. Bring a shovel. Installing compost toilets late October. BEWARE OF RATTLESNAKES ! Im limiting to only 5 groups on site to provide better distancing between groups. I wish more friends will come along, it's for them I created this place for a San Diego camping spot to enjoy friends and family. This land has been in my family for 40 years. Very private. Weather is similar to Baja and Rosarito, MX. Gets occasional snow in winter. Grew up swimming in the ponds, 4xing around, mountain biking, building mx tracks, hiking, camping, watching sunrises and sunsets on the ridge and other ventures on this property. All size trailers and vehicles can make it up to main camp areas now. Travel at own risk. It's dirt roads. It's a big area so easy to just chill wherever. Main pond has been stocked with bass and catfish. Please practice catch and release. Hour east of downtown San Diego. If you need help on price message me and I can work with you on reasonable rate for your budget. Off-road vehicle trails. Old mx tracks I built on site. Tear it up if you got off-road vehicles, just be respectful of other campers. X-country travel ok to follow old trails and to create new trails. There are a bunch of advanced off-road trails (razors, quads, MX, crawler rigs) to southeast of main pond, advanced off road skills required. Cross main pond dam to east and head southeast to 250 acres of advanced trails area. If you have any questions holler. Do not abandon cars or gear. Pack it in, pack it out !! Do not wander off the property past fence lines onto other people's property. Comply with all CA laws. No illegal activities. Any use of the property for personal or private financial gain is not allowed without the prior written consent from property owners. Property is available for private commercial and business events with prior negotiation and written agreement with property owner. Message me for gate code and directions before arrival. PLEASE KEEP IN AND OUT TRAFFIC AT ENTRANCE GATE TO A MINIMUM. Loud music is fine as long as respect other camper groups. Come prepared to stay in the wilderness of the high desert coastal mountains. I have cellular game cameras to monitor the property. Helicopter landing spots available. All cell phone providers work good on site. Camp 5 is a 4x4 only camp spot at lookout on top of mountain. If you want camp 5 message me and I can lower rate since rough road access up there. A guy in a honda pilot did say he loved camp 5.
Campsite area
Bring your own
5 sites
Up to 35 guests per site
Park at listing
ADA access
Pets allowed
No campfires
No toilet
Kitchen available
Picnic table available
No potable water
No showers
No wifi
Pack it out
Have a question? Send Dahlgren a message!
  • Check in: After 12AM
  • Check out: Before 1PM
  • Cancellation policy: Super Flexible
  • On arrival: Go straight to camp
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 18 months out
  • Weeknight discount: 60% off
  • Response time: Within an hour
  • Response rate: 100%


Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Horseback riding
Off-roading (OHV)
Wildlife watching


Natural features you'll find at San Diego Mountain Escape Camp in California.


High desert mountains. Gets light snow in winter.

Swimming hole

The vibe at San Diego Mountain Escape Camp

68 Written reviews
This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper MELSHI
Melshi M.
recommends this listing.
(Site 1)
September 20th, 2018

Very good spot

Hipcamper Thomas

Great spots, poorly managed

Thomas S.
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Site 2)
July 13th, 2020

tl;dr Beautiful land with freedom to do what you want, but assignment of sites is a free-for-all despite the hosts's claims of having it under control.

Jonas's land is beautiful and you can pretty much do whatever you want here which is nice. Jonas is a nice guy and responds immediately whenever you reach out to him. He also was very accommodating when it came to issuing a partial refund when my group size changed, and a full refund when the experience was not good (I ultimately did not pursue this as we made it work).

We reserved two sites for 35 people a month in advance. Jonas told me only one other group maximum would be present, although we were the only ones that had booked at the time. We asked that sites 1 and 3 would be reserved for us, which we were told was no problem. Two days before our booking, we were contacted by Jonas saying that he overbooked and asked if we could reschedule. I told him this was not possible, and he said that given my group size was cut in half, we could get by with only one site, to which I agreed. Importantly, he still promised us group #1. I expressed my concern that someone would take #1 before our arrival, and he assured me that he communicated to all campers that #1 was reserved for us.

When we arrived on site, of course another family was already at our reserved site. They were very kind and explained that they had the EXACT SAME MESSAGING with Jonas, that he tried to get them to reschedule, and still promised them campsite #1. We were stuck with #3, the smallest site. When I contacted Jonas, he claimed that his "caretaker" was waiting for us holding the site until noon (we arrived at 3pm), which was flagrantly false because the family was there all weekend. He then went on a rant about how I can go ahead and leave a bad review because there were so many other people leaving good reviews, and that he would gladly refund me.

In the end we made it work so I will not be demanding a refund. But I must say that this guy needs to totally change the way he manages this place. He does not live in the same part of the state which makes it impossible for him to have any oversight. It would be very simple to have someone come by every weekend and post the name of the person reserving a particular site. Instead, we and other groups were all promised the same thing and had to fend for ourselves.

Privacy and freedom to do what you want is awesome, but it very quickly loses its appeal when there is zero sense of any competent management. Proceed with caution.

Hipcamper Dahlgren
Response from Dahlgren, the Host, on July 22nd, 2020

Ever happens again I will kick the bad campers out ASAP. Again sorry this happened.

Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Justin
Justin Z.
recommends this listing.
(Site 1)
October 2nd, 2018

We had a great time on the property, the view of Tecate at night was amazing while sitting around the camp fire. We will be going back again for sure.

Hipcamper Katherine
Katherine M.
recommends this listing.
(Site 1)
October 22nd, 2018

The ponds were dry due to the time of the year/drought but hope to come back another time when maybe there is some water on the property. Overall had a great time on the mountain!

Hipcamper Kathryn
Kathryn H.
recommends this listing.
(Site 1)
November 12th, 2018

Beautiful piece of land you have all to yourself! The roads in can be a little tricky with larger RVs/trailers - just tread carefully and it's worth it!

San Diego Mountain Escape CampSan Diego Mountain Escape CampSan Diego Mountain Escape Camp
Hipcamper darsi
Darsi R.
recommends this listing.
(Site 2)
January 23rd, 2019

Excellent spot. Winter/Spring great time of year. Beautiful hiking.

Hipcamper candice
Candice F.
recommends this listing.
(Site 1)
March 11th, 2019


We enjoyed this property so much. Plenty to explore, check out. We will definitely be back soon!

Hipcamper Luke
Luke H.
recommends this listing.
(Site 2)
March 27th, 2019

Great camping spot down by the border with Tecate. Beautiful land and some fun trails to drive around on. Bunch of different campsites to choose from. There is a high point you can drive up to that overlooks Tecate and you can see sections of the border wall off in the distance. Only stayed one night so we didn't get a chance to explore everything. Jonas was cool and check-in/check-out was a breeze. 4 wheel drive vehicle recommended.

Hipcamper candice

514 acres of amazing times

Candice F.
recommends this listing.
(Site 2)
April 17th, 2019

Stayed here twice! We love it 514 acres to explore / hike / camp. The views of Tecate are pretty rad at night. Definitely a rad gem we’ve found!

Getting back to camp after hiking San Diego Mountain Escape CampSunset Wildflowers bursting on the property
San Diego Mountain Escape Camp
United States
5 Sites
Hipcamp is created with ❤️ and hope for our future