Hipcamp host Larry K.
Hosted by

Located in the local coastal plain of San Luis Obispo, CA. The farm is mountainous and is divided in half with the higher mountainous part for running cattle and the lower portion used for farming 200 different crops organically. They are ancient grains, beans and peas, herbs and spices. You can pick up your pumpkins and Christmas trees less than a mile to the east at Brooks

Read more...

Located in the local coastal plain of San Luis Obispo, CA. The farm is mountainous and is divided in half with the higher mountainous part for running cattle and the lower portion used for farming 200 different crops organically. They are ancient grains, beans and peas, herbs and spices. You can pick up your pumpkins and Christmas trees less than a mile to the east at Brookshire Farms. We are located within about 7 miles from Montana De Oro State Campground with 100s of miles of hiking trails of various difficulty which is right on the Pacific Ocean and we are 8 miles to Morro Bay Beach. There are views from our higher elevation areas of the farm to view Morro Bay and Morro Rock with the water crashing on the breakwater visible to the naked eye. We can also see all the way to Villa Creek Road on a clear day which is 7+ miles North of Cayucos and South of San Simeon home of Hearst Castle . Villa Creek Road is the sight of the only viable Abalone Farm in California. We are about 5 miles to the back bay of Los Osos which is called Baywood Park on the bay with restaurants from Pizza Parlors to high end dining. There is also wine tasting right across the street from Ralph’s grocery store at Baker & Brain Winery on the weekends.

We offer 3 camping sites two which are dedicated and marked and one that is your choice on the high ground shared with friendly cattle. We do have a composting toilet (green & white on wheels) at the bottom of the property approximately 100 feet south of the entrance. Please bring your own toiletry supplies.  We ask that you clean up after yourself in the bathroom and be respectful of other campers.

NO OFF-ROAD VEHICLES are allowed on our property

SPEED LIMIT 10 mph

TENT CAMPING ONLY- Campers please be respectful and stay in your booked campsite.  Thank you

Views & information about campsites:

We ask that you stay in the campsite you have booked.  Also, Vehicles are to stay on your campsite.  Thank you for your understanding.

CAMPSITE #1 view of our Farm no trees on the site it is between two fields.  Site has a slight slope. 30x80.  Bathroom is located on this site to the west. This site does not have a fire ring but you are allowed to have fires. Boundaries west 200 feet, south 1/4 mile, west 1/4 mile- Please see photos

CAMPSITE #2 View of Morro Rock & Pacific Ocean (7miles away) Trees around but not on site.  40x80.  Bathroom is located on site #1 - 200feet to the north. This site has a stone fire ring. Boundaries west to fence, south 1000 feet, east 1/4 mile.

CAMPSITE #3 View of Morro Rock, water crashing on the breakwater ( 7miles away),  On a clear day Villa Creek Road and the Abalone Farm (20 miles away) Huge Oak tree, many surround tree, small dry lake, outcrop wonderful rock hunting, Picnic tables & Fire pits. 120x300. Boundaries Rock out crop, 800 feet south, west to tall post south of fence line, east 1/4 mile.

Campsite area
Bring your own tents, vans
3 sites
Up to 12 guests per site
Park at listing
No ADA access
Essentials
Campfires allowed
Toilet available
Pets allowed
Amenities
No potable water
No kitchen
No showers
No picnic table
No wifi
Pack it out
RV details
Pull-in site, max length 45ft
Ask about generators
Surface type unknown, levelness unknown
No hookups
Have a question? Send Larry a message!
  • Check in: After 2PM
  • Check out: Before 12PM
  • Cancellation policy: Moderate
  • On arrival: Go straight to camp
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 12 months out

Activities

Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Biking

Biking Trails all over the Central Coast

Boating

Morro Bay, Avila Beach Non-motorized Back Bay Los Osos, Lopez Lake

Fishing

Morro Bay, Avila & Lopez Lake

Hiking

100's of trails on the Property The Central is 1000's of hikes

Horseback riding

Near by horse trails at Montana De Oro State Park

Paddling

Los Osos Back Bay, Morro Bay, Pismo Beach

Wind sports

Lopez Lake

Surfing

Morro Bay, Pismo Beach, Cayucos

Swimming

Numerous Local Beaches and Lopez Lake

Wildlife watching

Los Osos, Morro Bay, Avila

Climbing

Terrain

Natural features you'll find at Mountains, Valley, Beach, Ranch in California.

Beach
Coastal
Mountainous
Prairie, meadow, ...
River, stream or ...
Farm
Ranch

The vibe at Mountains, Valley, Beach, Ranch

36 Written reviews
This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Jeff

Private hilltop overlooking morro

Jeff H.
recommends this listing.
(Site 1)
July 8th, 2019

This review is for Site 3, up in the hills. This site is awesome. Amazing views. The road up after the gate is a little gnarly, there's a big rut in the middle, so make sure you have some good tires. There was actually another group up there with us but there was plenty of space. There was a big oak tree with a table under it that we used. It did get a bit cold and windy so make sure you are prepared. Larry was a super nice and laid back guy. Overall an amazing place to camp. Super close to Montaña de Oro and Ralph's grocery store.

This is looking to the right of our tent. Oak tree to right.This is where we pitched our tent, looking out to Morro Rock in the distance. Big oak tree behind camera.This is the road up the hill past the gate. Careful, big rut in middle
Hipcamper Larry
Response from Larry, the Host, on August 7th, 2019

Glad to hear you had a nice stay. Being near the coast we do get a little chilly. Thank you for the great pictures of the site you stayed on.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Lori

Peaceful stay, beautiful views

Lori K.
recommends this listing.
(Site 2)
July 10th, 2019

What a wonderful stay! I definitely recommend site#2. Larry was easy to work with and a friendly host. The views from this site are unforgettable!

Afternoon nap, View from Site#2
Hipcamper Larry
Response from Larry, the Host, on August 7th, 2019

Glad to hear you had a nice stay. What a great picture. Perfect spot to lay back relax and enjoy a little peace & nature.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Joe
Joe B.
recommends this listing.
(Site 3)
July 10th, 2019

The land was beautiful! I would recommend staying there again.

Hipcamper Larry
Response from Larry, the Host, on August 7th, 2019

Glad to hear you had a nice stay. We think we have a pretty wonderful spot to enjoy.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Laurel

Disappointed

Laurel W.
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Site 1)
July 16th, 2019

While this place was one of the most picturesque places I've EVER been to to watch the sun set, this location was not nearly what I was expecting which was a bit frustrating after spending the money that we did. (I'm sure things might have ended a little differently if our host was actually there to clarify everything but he was out of town and we didn't have service to contact him once we got there.) My friends and I were going to be in the area and were looking for a spot to pull off for the night- toilets, water, a campfire, and a space for a van plus a tent were an absolute must for our group so I reached out to Larry before I booked to ask him about his property. He said there were vault toilets there, a water container nearby, adequate space to park and set up a tent, and that campfires were allowed so we reserved a site! When we arrived, we followed signs to our site spot and were a tad confused because it was just a small field patch. Behind that field was spot number 2 where we saw some other visitors and drove back to ask them where our spot was. They assured us it was in fact that tiny field. There was just a small strip of about 8 ft wide of the field that was quasi-matted down where the site was labeled but it was pressed up against a field of crops so we had very limited room to navigate where to park our van. No designated spot for fires either and we didn't feel comfortable making our own fire ring or pit because on either side of our "strip" were crops that we didnt want to risk ruining and the strip we were parked on was covered in straw- too many hazards there for an open fire. After deciding that a fire was out of the question, we went looking for the vault toilets and water and found that the water was empty and there were no signs as to where these "toilets" were even after driving around back to the front of the property a second time. The last thing we struggled with was how much of this property is in plain sight of the highway- we didn't feel comfortable enough setting up our tent for fear of attracting "bad news" since this field was up against the side of a hill that anyone can see as they drive by on the main road so my whole group had to cram inside our van for the night which was not what we had planned. We were very disappointed seeing how this site was not what we were expecting, and it was such a waste of our money and time. We paid over $40 for a site to have literally the same amenities (which were none) if we had just pulled off the side of the road and crammed in our van (which would have been FREE). If you are a sucker for sunsets and photography, definitively give it a shot but other than that, not worth it in our opinion for that cost.

Hipcamper Larry
Response from Larry, the Host, on July 24th, 2019

We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Our campers are allowed to have fires on the sites we do not provide firewood or pits on Site 1 & 2. Site 3 has 2 firepits. Site #1 is 30x 80 in size. we will add a better description to help our campers in the future. We do have a composting toilet (green building on wheels) that is near the entrance ( we have moved it to site one today) The non-potable water ( a faucet with a hose) is at the front of the 5th wheel trailer which 150 feet south of the entrance. We are not sure where the information about the toilets came from we are not even sure what a vault toilet is. Once again we are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. How can we make this up to you?

Helpful
2
Helpful
2
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Josef
Josef H.
recommends this listing.
(Site 2)
June 23rd, 2019

It was good. It was confusing to find where to go because we couldn’t find a clearly labeled site. I also tried to call Larry for clarification but he did not answer. All in all though, the site got the job done, it was a great last minute spot!

Hipcamper Larry
Response from Larry, the Host, on July 10th, 2019

We apologize for the confusion. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we now have the campsites clearly marked. We hope you make it back sometime soon.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Caroline
Caroline L.
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
(Site 1)
June 25th, 2019

Good spot! A little difficult to find. Pretty farm!

Hipcamper Larry
Response from Larry, the Host, on July 10th, 2019

Thank you for the review, it can be a little tricky to find...part of the beauty being set back and hidden. We hope you have a wonderful summer full of camping & adventure

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Maddie
Maddie H.
recommends this listing.
(Site 3)
June 30th, 2019

Great last minute place! The stars were amazing at night but didn’t get see any cattle while staying here

Hipcamper Larry
Response from Larry, the Host, on July 10th, 2019

Hope you can make it back to have a second chance at seeing the cattle. The farm is truly an amazing place to stargaze.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Katie
Katie C.
recommends this listing.
(Site 1)
July 10th, 2019

We had a very pleasant stay at this low-key camp spot. It was great just kicking back, watching the sun setting on the nearby hillside and listening to the frogs, crickets and other critters coming out for the night.

Mountains, Valley, Beach, Ranch
Hipcamper Larry
Response from Larry, the Host, on July 10th, 2019

Gald to hear you enjoyed the beauty and peacfulness of the farm. Hope to have you back again sometime soon.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Michelle

Amazing views and privacy!

Michelle C.
recommends this listing.
(Site 3)
July 10th, 2019

Absolutely LOVED our stay here. I felt like we had a whole mountain to ourselves, with a massive space to set up camp and such a grand view of Morro Rock, plus everything from the valley to the ocean. Larry was around to welcome us warmly and then gave us full privacy. He was also excellent with his communications.

The site was so peaceful and isolated. There was a bbq grill and small fire pit for our use and our three dogs loved running around exploring -- and we didn't have to worry about other animals or humans coming by that they would bark at. The drive up to the site was a bit nerve-wracking being a steep, somewhat bump dirt road, but we made it up (carefully) in our Toyota Camry.

I seriously can't recommend this spot enough for its massive space, privacy, and views! Would definitely recommend to others and hopefully be back soon.

Hipcamper Larry
Response from Larry, the Host, on August 7th, 2019

Glad to hear you had a nice stay. We hope you come back and stay again sometime soon.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Property
Larry K.’s Land
State
California
$45/night
3 Sites