Hipcamp host Fred
Hosted by
Come stay at our rustic campsite under some large oak trees next to a little open area by an ecological pond on our working ranch! With 54 acres for our horses and avocados, we welcome guests to camp on a somewhat private part of the ranch (on occasion, equestrians may ride by). We can accommodate up to 8 more campers depending on the group type. We love welcoming Continue reading...

Come stay at our rustic campsite under some large oak trees next to a little open area by an ecological pond on our working ranch! With 54 acres for our horses and avocados, we welcome guests to camp on a somewhat private part of the ranch (on occasion, equestrians may ride by). We can accommodate up to 8 more campers depending on the group type. We love welcoming families to the ranch, but like to approve larger groups ahead of time!

At the campsite you'll find picnic tables, a fire pit for small fires, and running water. There is a fully functional bathroom made out of a converted horse trailer with a toilet and sink a few hundred yards from the site. Walking around the property, you'll see an activity barn and a historic 19th century building which houses a private library. Permission may be granted for entry if requested. There is an outdoor shower at the campsite with cold water only. Some firewood may be provided at no cost.

We are located only two miles to the ocean beaches and about a mile to a major shopping center. UCSB is just minutes away. Bicycling is very easy as all roads and access are flat.

Campsite area
Bring your own tents
No. of sites
1 bookable site
Access
Park at listing
Group sizes
Up to 8 people per site
Potable water available
Fires allowed
Firewood provided, fire ring w/ grill
Toilet available
No pets
Showers available
Cold water only
Pack it out
No picnic table
No wifi
No RV hookup
No RV sanitation
Have a question? Send Fred a message!
  • Check in: After 2PM
  • Check out: Before 12PM
  • Cancellation policy: Super Strict
  • On arrival: Go straight to camp
  • Minimum nights: None
  • Accepts bookings: 12 months out
  • Response time: Within 6 hours
  • Response rate: 100%
Wildlife watching
Biking
Boating
Fishing
Hiking
Horseback riding
Paddling
Wind sports
OHV
Climbing
Snow sports
Surfing
Swimming
Whitewater paddling

The vibe at Gracewood Santa Barbara

Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Fred D.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Fred D.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Fred D.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Fred D.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Fred D.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Fred D.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Kelsey T.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Michael C.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Michael C.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Michael C.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Michael C.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
Michael C.'s photo at Gracewood Santa Barbara
10 Reviews
This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Adrienne
Recommends this listing

This is a great place to camp. Huge private space under the shade of Live Oak trees. The ranch is beautiful and Fred and Cyndy were super welcoming. We were lucky enough to be there when the avocado's were ripe so it was a real treat to collect them from the ground and add to our meals!

Hipcamper Geoff
Recommends this listing

We had a great time at Gracewood. All the necessary amenities including a library on site and a wonderful host. Would recommend to anyone looking to try out Hipcamp.

Hipcamper Tim
Recommends this listing

Gracewood is delightful! We loved the privacy, the huge spaces, the trees, the wildlife, the gorgeous classic setting....all of it! The campfire next to the pond is gorgeous, and the abundance of tables and places to just be. We loved the archery too! We will be back! Thank you.

Hipcamper Richardson
Recommends this listing

Gracewood is a lovely, tranquil spot with lots of activities and conveniences (potable water, fire pit, running toilet facilities, etc). Frank is a gracious and responsive host. I would highly recommend camping here, and hope to return again sometime. Thanks Frank!

Hipcamper Bruce
Does not recommend this listing

The campsite was not a $160 a night spot. At most it’s worth $60.
Lots of dirty picnic tables set up haphazardly in a small spot.
The pond has mosquitos so bring bug repellant.
The duff and leaf litter on the ground is thick and in some spots a bit dangerous to walk through.
The horse folks around the property don’t want you near there horses.
I would not return to this spot at this price and state of disrepair of the camp spot.
It does have great potential if it were cleaned up.

Hipcamper Fred
Response from Fred, the Host, on May 28th, 2018

I apologize to our campers if our somewhat natural facilities were not up to expectations. Campers should realize that this private campsite is comparable in price to other sites in the area but it is also very difficult to find any campsite so close to so much Santa Barbara and the beach has to offer. We only allow one reservation at a time to use our facility even though it has the capabilities of spaciously accommodating a large group with many tables. The camping area is exclusive, private and very natural with wildlife visiting the site. This camper was the first this season and many waterfowl and an abundance of birds, because of the local drought, had made the area with the full pond their home for the winter. Our caretaker probably overlooked their droppings in and around the campsite; our apologies. With regard to the leaf litter; our grand old oak trees are very healthy due to the natural dropping of their leaves and the richness of the weed free ground cover which has been created just under the avocado and oak trees. Our horse clients have very dear and/or expensive horses and the stables, arenas, and other equestrian facilities are quite peaceful and generally private. The horse owners are friendly folk but may frown on mountain bikes and other loud and/or disruptive activity by those who may be lacking knowledge of equestrian etiquette. We appreciate our campers and thank them for their input and we will try even harder in the future to make sure everyone enjoys their time at GRACEWOOD.

Hipcamper Benjamin
Has mixed feelings towards this listing

Gracewood was great. Fred was welcoming and accommodating. Very private and secluded. Plenty of beautiful sites, and you are within close proximity of horses and trainers, which we really liked.

I would say that guests need to make a determination of value. This was the most expensive car camping site I have ever paid for. But if you accept that going into it, then you will have a wonderful experience. Otherwise you may want to think about staying somewhere else.

Hipcamper Michael
Has mixed feelings towards this listing

Fred is great host! Site is bit more primative than anticipated and depicted in photos. Tables and benches are not in good condition. The BBQ and propane grill also not really usable. Pond has heave over growth creating thick moss layer. My 6 year old son was still able to land a large fish. Be sure to bring bug spray this time of year. There is a horseshoe pit was was great. The fire pit adjacent to pond was great. There is an outdoor shower (cold ) but there is a hose attachment to connect camp water heater if desired. Was also a cool functioning sink to wash dishes. Tent site area is completely shaded by large trees. Was very tranquil! Choosing the right time of year to go could even make it more exciting. ( no over growth on pond)

Xtuodtteghvq5jt4ka6wNv56hojlfasewwhcf94rZxux0l9htrxuunboeg7sEfc7xzekpglqz54hh8z7
Property
Fred D.'s Land
State
California
$160/night
1 Site