Do you like private solitude, running water, hiking trails to spectacular views, off grid camping, organic vegetables and even mineral bathing within walking distance to your camp?  Then you will love this campsite.  It's minimal, yet provides an quiet escape into nature and simplicity.  Set up your tent alongside the running creek and observe wildlife, take a hike, relax in

Read more...

Do you like private solitude, running water, hiking trails to spectacular views, off grid camping, organic vegetables and even mineral bathing within walking distance to your camp?  Then you will love this campsite.  It's minimal, yet provides an quiet escape into nature and simplicity.  Set up your tent alongside the running creek and observe wildlife, take a hike, relax in peace.  There are plenty of private camping spots for you to choose from!  Singles, couples and families welcome!  

Along with your camping experience we have a mineral bathing spa which exists due to an artesian spring located on the hill in close proximity to a couple of the campsite locations.  From the mineral water source, the water is gravity fed to the bathing site.  Then propane is used to heat the water.  There is a shower, and two claw foot tubs. There is a $10 fee for using the bathing spring if you'd like to enjoy the hot water.  The spa is private, but it is not separate from nature.  It is outdoor bathing.

We can accommodate campers, vans and trucks.  All campsites are accessible by car and foot.  There are many campsites to choose from when you arrive at the property.  Please take photos of your experience so other campers can see which campsite you are utilizing!

Our amenities are limited, but we do have toilets on either end of the property.  We have a cabin with a full bathroom that can be used at the moment due to the cabin being unavailable for rent.  There is also an outhouse on the other side.  If you are planning to cook without your own cook stove, be prepared to cook over firelight.  You can bring your own cook-stove too  Take out what you brought in, including garbage as we do not have a central spot for garbage service.

There are fire rings at most of the campsites, plenty of wood on the property, and water is typically close by your camp out of a spigot.  We recommend bringing your own drinking water for convenience, but the water is artesian spring water and fine to drink as well.  There are some more remote spots that can be hiked to, which are completely off the grid.  Please know what poison oak looks like as we do have it growing in parts of the forest.

Once you book, we will send you detailed directions on how to get to the site, and what to expect with your email address.  Please reach out to Micheal the day of your arrival and let him know your ETA.  We do not check in campers past dusk.  If you think you are going to be late, past dark please let us know.

There is an opportunity to help on the farm here and if you are in need of a longer stay, and would like to help in the nursery, garden and/or market then let it be known.  We are not hiring employees, but the farm is always in need of help.

We can host retreats and events.

We look forward to having you!

Campsite area
Bring your own tents, vans
5 sites
Up to 6 guests per site
Park at listing
No ADA access
Essentials
Campfires allowed
Toilet available
Pets allowed
Pull-through site
No hookups
Amenities
Potable water available
Kitchen available
Showers available
Wifi available
Bins available
No picnic table
  • Check in: After 10AM
  • Check out: Before 1PM
  • Cancellation policy: Flexible
  • On arrival: Meet and greet
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 12 months out

Activities

Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Biking
Boating
Fishing
Hiking
Horseback riding
Paddling
Wind sports
Surfing
Swimming
Wildlife watching

Terrain

Natural features you'll find at Creekside Camping & Mineral Bath in California.

Hot spring

We have mild volcanic springs, meaning, the water is only a few degrees above lukewarm. But Michael has designed a sulfur spri...Read more

Farm

CCOF Organic Farm! We need volunteers as well :)

Beach
Coastal
Forest
Mountainous
River, stream or ...
Swimming hole

The vibe at Creekside Camping & Mineral Bath

This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Sena

Hidden farm gem

Sena K.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
July 10th, 2019

I came here on a solo trip with my pup and before I even got to the farm, the drive to the actual campsite was just beautiful. You drive through paved roads with trees draping from both sides of the road like a beautiful tunnel made of trees and pass by so many beautiful farms and cows. Then you get to the actual farm/camp and it is 126 acres of beauty tucked away in the back. I pitched my tent right next to the creek and put up my hammock. The string lights made the area so cozy and I overall really loved the vibe and experience there. Will definitely be back to this beautiful gem!

Hipcamper John
John S.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
November 13th, 2018

Quintessential Cambria in the hills... off-grid. MIke was a wonderful host! And the dozen eggs he left us while we were out hiking the farm and property were amazing, and a very nice touch. This place was truly organic... Giddy Up!

Hipcamper Michael Limacher
Response from Michael Limacher, the Host, on November 15th, 2018

John, you know where we are, and you're welcome back anytime!! Thank you so much for your feedback. Michael said you were excellent guests :) We look forward to seeing you again.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Lynne
Lynne H.
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
(Dispersed site)
April 3rd, 2019

The property is amazing on many levels. Our first impression was not a positive one but was completely reversed within a few hours. Signage to the site needs some upgrading. The entrance to the property is unkept and gently littered with junk. Once we went further into the property it became the perfect place for our girls camping weekend. Quiet, private, lots of stars, birds and some poison oak. Michael was a great host. He was readily available to answer questions or address concerns.

Hipcamper Wesley
Wesley J.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
November 25th, 2018

It could have been more clearly labeled from the road but it was a very nice site. The mineral bath wasn’t running when we were there but we wish them luck getting it up and running. The host was a friendly guy. Make sure to call ahead.

Hipcamper Michael Limacher
Response from Michael Limacher, the Host, on January 15th, 2019

Hi Wesley, Thank you for your feedback. Yes the road has always been a little challenging to get to if you don't call for exact directions. There's no cell reception half way up so it is very important to arrive before dark, and to call ahead. We hope you come back if you're in this area.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Alex
Alex F.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
November 26th, 2018

My overall camping experience was amazing.
We met Michael and he gave us a little history about his farm and pointed us to the various directions of his 126 acre lot! We ended up choosing a more private area- past the baths, entered through one of the deer fences next to the mineral water.
Location was very private, which i personally enjoy- plus it's great for star watching.
I would definitely recommend to people who want to escape into simplicity and enjoy a more private and primordial campsite.

Hipcamper Michael Limacher
Response from Michael Limacher, the Host, on January 15th, 2019

Thank you for your feedback I'm glad you experienced the magic!

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Ian
Ian B.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
December 31st, 2018

The site was perfect and what we expected. We came at night and that was a challenge. I would of come in the day light to navigate the area. Mike was a great host and we would go back. He also had a cabin available I wish we had known about as it would of been perfect.

Hipcamper Michael Limacher
Response from Michael Limacher, the Host, on January 15th, 2019

Thank you Ian! I will mention the cabin on this listing for now on and if people want to book the cabin they can direct message this listing and we will set that up. The cabin is $150 - $200 per night.

Helpful
1
Helpful
1
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper chelsea
Chelsea E.
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Dispersed site)
December 31st, 2018

This hipcamp is not as described in words or photos. Michael himself was a very nice host who greeted us at the farmers market and the property. The site itself is on a beautiful property, but hasn’t been cared for. There are several broken down cars, piles of trash stacked high. There are also other people who come to your site who appear to live in tents on site. This site was not trailer accessible for us.
Unfortunately, we were not happy with our stay.

Hipcamper Michael Limacher
Response from Michael Limacher, the Host, on January 15th, 2019

We hope you received your refund in full. We apologize that you had to enter through the lower gate where you saw our farm "boneyard". Also, we apologize that you stayed on a busy weekend where we had multiple hip-campers on the farm at one time. All live in workers stay in tiny cabins, no one stays in the tents other than guests. Thank you, we hope you have a great life.

Helpful
2
Helpful
2
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Kent
Kent R.
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
(Dispersed site)
January 5th, 2019

Micheal was very nice and helpful. The mineral spring is was too cold to sit in, and there's an extra charge for running the propane water heater. That's understandable, but the description makes it sound like the springs are warm enough to soak in, and there's no mention that the propane heater is an additional cost. I camped up on the hill below the avocado orchard, with great views, a big night sky full of stars, and Santa Ana winds that shook the van through the night.

Hipcamper Michael Limacher
Response from Michael Limacher, the Host, on January 15th, 2019

Oh those Santa Ana winds. Yes, those can be a challenge to experience if you're outdoors. Thank you for bringing up the cost of the propane I will now add that in as an expense to the listing and clarify with campers about that situation. Thank you for your feedback!

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper David

Magically challenging

David L.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
March 6th, 2019

Be prepared to enter an alice In wonderland enchanted enclave. Tucked away yet sprawling with interesting books and crannies. Not to mention a working organic farm. Ask Jeremiah for a tour. He’s a great guide. Also creeks galore, cold plunge and mineral bath! No WiFi though so plan to unplug In order to plug into this rare rugged gem.

Creekside Camping & Mineral Bath
Property
Charan Springs Farm
State
California
$30/night
5 Sites