Located on Chanslor's rolling mountain hills, overlooking the ocean. Fireplace and picnic table at this site. Houses up to 4 tents and 10 people. CHECK-IN TIMES: 12PM-6PM.  All guests should arrive before sundown. This site is HIKE-IN ONLY - not accessible by vehicle - please be prepared to backpack a steep incline of 1/4 mile to your campsite.  Check the weather before your Continue reading...

Located on Chanslor's rolling mountain hills, overlooking the ocean. Fireplace and picnic table at this site. Houses up to 4 tents and 10 people.

CHECK-IN TIMES: 12PM-6PM. All guests should arrive before sundown.

This site is HIKE-IN ONLY - not accessible by vehicle - please be prepared to backpack a steep incline of 1/4 mile to your campsite. 

Check the weather before your trip (strong winds up to 35 mph at times!)

72 hour cancellation policy.

Campsite area
Bring your own tents
No. of sites
1 bookable site
Access
Moderate walk (5 - 10 mins)
Group sizes
Up to 10 people per site
Potable water available
Fires allowed
Toilet available
Pets allowed
Showers available
Pack it out
Picnic table available
No wifi
No RV hookup
No RV sanitation
  • Check in: After 12PM
  • Check out: Before 11AM
  • Cancellation policy: Moderate
  • On arrival: Meet and greet
  • Minimum nights: None
  • Accepts bookings: 12 months out
  • Response time: Within 12 hours
  • Response rate: 100%
Biking
Boating
Fishing
Hiking
Horseback riding
Paddling
Wind sports
Surfing
Wildlife watching
OHV
Climbing
Snow sports
Swimming
Whitewater paddling

The vibe at Coyote Rock

This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Jessica

This is about the fourth time I've told this story, between trying to get in touch with Chanslor Ranch and Hipcamp, but hopefully it'll save others some pain and frustration.

Long story short, our stay at Chanslor Ranch was not great. When we arrived (at 6, prior to the 8 pm cutoff), it was too dark to figure out how to get to the sites and the maps provided on the office door were too wet to read (office was closed). I finally found a staffperson (behind a door reading "Keep out") that took us up to a site, and we pitched our tent. We were woken hours later by a group of men who told us that we were in their site. Fortunately they were nice enough to let us stay, but it was pretty awkward.

The next morning after walking around for a half hour trying to find our site (which we finally found, but had no sign), and after multiple attempts to call or otherwise contact a staffperson, we learned that our site was given away to another family because the Chanslor Ranch staff didn't update the reservation list after early the morning we registered. The camp staff wasn't able to move the other group that day so we were ultimately told to move to yet another site up the hill, in the dark.

The staff people offered a refund, which seemed reasonable. But after emailing them and calling multiple times over the course of a week, I got no response and ultimately had to go through Hipcamp for recourse.

The pros: We were able to get a reservation on a holiday weekend, it was a beautiful spot, campsites aren't right on top of each other, and it's nice to have a camp experience that's somewhat removed from the RV scene.

Cons: Terrible signage/maps, terrible customer service, "walk in" distance can be pretty far and sites difficult to find, pretty $$$$ for being a half mile away from a pit toilet and more like 3/4 of a mile from a flush toilet w/o TP; overall a pretty disorganized operation for the cost.

I'm a lifelong camper and I'm sure I'll give Hipcamp another try, but I guess after this experience I had a new appreciation for the infrastructure of public campgrounds. I won't be returning to Chanslor Ranch.

Hipcamper Dante

Great location. Diverse camping sites. Grassy meadows, to rocky hilltop overlooks, Tepees and full on lux-o-glamping. Sites are spread out far enough from each other that if you are looking to get some zzz's, your neighbor's party zone will not affect you.

There is usually a last minute vacancy, unlike most of the surrounding state parks which have been reserved out for the next 100 years.

Hipcamper Manon

Coyote Rock was an amazing campsite! A little bit of a hike up the hill but soooo worth it! Dress warm the wind can be strong!
We had the best time, the view is simply incredible!

Hipcamper Virginia

So beautiful. It was the perfect spot and just what I was wanting. The front desk staff was so friendly and welcoming. Everything about the stay was pretty perfect.

Hipcamper Mike

Absolutely beautiful site! The views were spectacular

The walk up from the car was a little tough, but totally worth it. After setting up our tent we were visited by some of cows, which added to the adventure.

It was definitely a little bit windy up on the hill, so be prepared with many layers.

We'll definitely return to Chanslor Ranch in the future!

Hipcamper Chanslor Ranch
Response from Chanslor Ranch, the Host, on May 14th, 2018

Thank you so much for your review. Next time ask us for help to carry your heavy gear, if the ATV is available, we will help you :).

Hipcamper Nick

This can be a great site if the weather is right. The site next to it, Shelter Rock, hence the name blocks more wind so it should be your first choice. Teton Rock is also nice, but doesn't have as good of a view. The alpacas are super fun to see, the live really close by and you will most likely get a visit.

Unfortunately, our site had a six pack of broken Modelo bottles and large bottle of gin broken in the fire pit, the last thing you want to do is pick out broken glass before you have to start the process of making a fire.

Also, a crate of firewood is not provided per the description on Hipcamp, it is an extra $10.

The mountain sites are definitely a steep climb, which is fine for true backpacking types. If you have more gear than a backpack 50-60 liters, it would be wise to use the porter service.

All in all; out of two nights, we had one killer sunset and one night that we had to get in to the tent at 8pm because the wind was so intense.

Overall, this is a pretty good place and the mountain sites are far enough apart for some privacy.

Hipcamper Chanslor Ranch
Response from Chanslor Ranch, the Host, on July 11th, 2018

Hey Nick, thanks for the feedback, we will crack down on the site checks. I did look at the description for Coyote Rock on Hipcamp and I did not see anywhere that states firewood is included. Glad you had a nice time though, come back and see us again. Camp Host Luci

Property
Chanslor Ranch
State
California
$56/night
1 Site