Hipcamp host Jennifer
Hosted by
Oceanside RV Park invites you to step into our spectacular closeness to the beach and near-perfect climate.  We have three private tent spaces each containing a designated parking area, grass, and fencing for privacy. Always catering to our guest, the park has many onsite amenities including full hook-ups (30 AMP), free WiFi, privacy fences, laundry and pool with spa making Continue reading...

Oceanside RV Park invites you to step into our spectacular closeness to the beach and near-perfect climate. We have three private tent spaces each containing a designated parking area, grass, and fencing for privacy. Always catering to our guest, the park has many onsite amenities including full hook-ups (30 AMP), free WiFi, privacy fences, laundry and pool with spa making your travels ever so convenient. If you are looking to explore, the park is located within close proximity to the famous Oceanside pier and harbor where you can hop on a fishing charter or relax at one of the many water-side restaurants. The San Diego Zoo, golf courses, Lego Land, Sea World and a host of other activities are within a short drive making Oceanside RV Park your San Diego travel destination. Guests have begun to rave about the tent camping experience. Come see for yourself! 

Campsite area
Bring your own tents
No. of sites
3 bookable sites
Access
Walk to listing
Group sizes
Up to 6 people per site
Potable water available
Spigot
No fires
Bring your own camping stove
Toilet available
Flush toilet
No pets
Showers available
Hot water
Bins available
Recycling bin, trash bin
Picnic table available
Wifi available
Have a question? Send Jennifer a message!
  • Check in: After 1PM
  • Check out: Before 12PM
  • Cancellation policy: Moderate
  • On arrival: Meet and greet
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 12 months out
  • Response time: Within 12 hours
  • Response rate: 100%
Beach
Coastal
Cave
Desert
Forest
Hot spring
Lake
Redwoods
River, stream or creek
Swimming hole
Waterfall
Biking
Boating
Fishing
Hiking
Paddling
Wind sports
Surfing
Swimming
Wildlife watching
Horseback riding
OHV
Climbing
Snow sports
Whitewater paddling

The vibe at Steps to the Beach - Oceanside RV

8 Written reviews
This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Ali
Ali
recommends this listing.
(Site 1)
December 5th, 2017

I have never camped at an RV park before, but it was fun! It was a different experience than what I am used to when you think of camping. The site is located on PCH and very close to everything that you would need; coffee, food, the ocean.
The site is a nice big grassy spot located on the side of the park, unfortunately right next to the train tracks. Jennifer ( the host) gives you ear plugs, so it wasn't a bother. You can only have one car parked there, but there is extra parking for $5 on site. I got there pretty late, and it was really dark, there are no fire pits so bring a head lamp or a lantern! We skated around the park, and made friends with other campers ( who had a fire pit ) and then we all walked across the street to the "Surf Bowl" and played a few rounds of bowling for the rest of the night. Hint: if you go on the weekends its unlimited bowling for $10 ( woo!)
The next morning we took our boards and walked five minutes to the water, and had a great rest of the day, would recommend to anyone who is looking for an easy, hassle free, cheap campsite

Caigmk1nl9bvzdhlgyoiWrba8jmskrjvhmxrgq3nX7kmeqrozukllvquvwzwYsgfuzsrfiitkkmffzmi
Hipcamper Jessica
Jessica
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
(Site 1)
June 18th, 2018

The site and layout was really nice. Fairly private and away from the RVs. It is pretty close to the beach and the pier. The showers and restrooms are nice and the pool was nice to relax in. We did play a couple of games of bowling across the street. The only downside to this site is the train. If you're an early starter, it shouldn't be a problem but it worked as a wake up call for us. Overall a good time.

Hipcamper Hailey
Hailey
recommends this listing.
(Site 3)
July 22nd, 2018

This was an awesome place to stay. Very clean. Only three tent spots that are secluded. The rest are RV’s. You can walk to the beach in about 10 minutes. Close to shops and restaurants. Ideal California camping spot!

Hipcamper Todd
Todd
recommends this listing.
(Site 3)
July 23rd, 2018

Oceanside RV was very nice and our campsite was great!! Clean area and bathrooms, a plus. Honestly took us 5 minutes to walk to the beautiful beaches in Oceanside. Along with the beach, several fun restaurants and shops were a few minute walk away. Only downside at all was the semi-frequent tram that ran behind the park. But, regardless, I would stay again in a heartbeat!

Yzfocey4pzlzjpgo46coQjfdflq4qbrmxj5dgsuhDbapvcfdbeyxcmsfcoyxSqzhndourenfwtwqluy7
Hipcamper Becca
Becca
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
(Site 3)
August 20th, 2018

This location was very close to the beach, which was perfect for us. The site had a pool too. The only problem was the train. We were warned it would be loud, but that it didn't run from 11pm - 6am. However, at 2:30am the loudest train came by and a few more kept coming. I'm not sure if that is normal, but it was impossible to sleep through the night. If it weren't for that, the site would have been great.

Hipcamper Jennifer
Response from Jennifer , the Host, on August 27th, 2018

Hi Becca, It was such a pleasure meeting you! I am so sorry to hear about the train! We do get the freight train Tuesday and Thursday nights, once at 10:30PM and back anytime between 1:30AM & 3:30AM. The passing only lasts about 30 seconds so it is not normal for the big train to start at 2:30am and continue through the morning. Other than the train I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you back soon! Happy Camping!

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Dakota
Dakota
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Site 1)
August 21st, 2018

The city and RV park itself was nice but unfortunately campsite 1 was infested with ants and they constantly were trying to invade our tent even though we had no food or anything ants could even be attracted to inside. Don’t know if campsite 2/3 also had that problem but they are fence to fence next to each other so I can’t imagine it would be that much better for the other sites. Could possibly be because the campsites have the RV parks trash/recycling bins right in front of them. Campsite one is also directly next to the dog park so our campsite smelled of dog urine our entire stay even with the fence sectioning it off. However the owner of the park Jennifer and all the employees were very sweet and the parks amenities were nice. The bathrooms were always clean and the spa was awesome! They also had a convenience store inside the park which was great! Even with those perks though unfortunately I don’t think it’s worth it to camp here for almost 70$ a night. It would be super awesome if we were RV camping though! So RV camping is a definite yes, but I’m bummed to say tent camping there wasn’t the best :(( we truly appreciated the hospitality though!

Hipcamper Jennifer
Response from Jennifer , the Host, on August 27th, 2018

Hi Dakota, I am so sorry to hear about the ants! Since it's been so dry we have been at battle over the summer. When we are notified of an issue we have our maintenance come around with an organic substance called diatomaceous earth that helps keep those little buggers at bay but they seem to be extremely attracted to water this year! I am surprised our little dog park was an issue, when I read your feedback I immediately got my maintenance involved, I think it was the hot summer heat that maybe intensified the aroma. None the less, we have stepped up our wash downs to 2 times daily and that seems to be working. We appreciate your feedback and we do hope we see you back sometime! Happy Camping!

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper David
David
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Site 1)
September 9th, 2018

This place tried to give us a campsite we did not book. Which was a terrible spot right in the middle of the RV Park, it had zero privacy. We went back and they changed it back to the original location at least. But I did not appreciate being moved without being told until arrival.

Hipcamper Jennifer
Response from Jennifer , the Host, on September 9th, 2018

Hi David, I do apologize for the change in site! We received some feedback regarding site one issues that needed to be addressed. We only moved you out of the site to try to avoid an unhappy camper and try to fix the issues which is what we explained when you arrived. When you voiced you wanted tent 1 we put you right back. Again, we apologize for the move and hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay!

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Chun
Chun
recommends this listing.
(Site 2)
October 10th, 2018

I wanted to celebrate my camping trip with someone special and was my birthday gift. We decided to try out both the Hipcamp service and Camping in Oceanside. Both were great. Site 3 was the site we stayed at. Jennifer is an excellent host! She made sure we were welcomed and comfortable. The place is quite and we felt safe. There were plenty of places to drive out and visit. We were able to go see different places and had fun at the bowling alley that was mentioned in the previous reviews. All in all I would recommend it and wouldn't mind visiting again!

Hipcamper Stephanie
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Site 2)
August 27th, 2018
A Hipcamper
A Hipcamper
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Site 1)
August 26th, 2018
Hipcamper Tracy
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Site 3)
August 19th, 2018
Hipcamper Maggie
recommends this listing.
(Site 3)
August 7th, 2018
A Hipcamper
A Hipcamper
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Site 2)
June 1st, 2018
Hipcamper Prince
recommends this listing.
(Site 1)
April 29th, 2018
Property
Camping in Oceanside
State
California
$45/night
3 Sites