Greg & Laurie has self-certified that Hipcamp’s COVID-19 Safety Standards have been implemented at this listing. See what’s being done here.

#6A - Tent Camping along the creek

This is a family private owned small campground (16 sites only) located on the outskirts of Placerville. The property features 86.5 secluded Tahoe like acres with beautiful year-round Weber Creek. The camp sites are placed along the creek or the bluff overlooking the creek.We have traditional dirt camping, platforms with canvas tents

Read more...

#6A - Tent Camping along the creek

This is a family private owned small campground (16 sites only) located on the outskirts of Placerville. The property features 86.5 secluded Tahoe like acres with beautiful year-round Weber Creek. The camp sites are placed along the creek or the bluff overlooking the creek.We have traditional dirt camping, platforms with canvas tents and glamping tents for those that want the comforts of home.Our hallmark is our family teepee!We are all about tent camping – we do not allow travel trailers, campers or van camping.

Now that we have a season under our belts we’ve been told that we have a “family camp” vibe.We are a great place for families wanting a safe environment for their kids but also several group sites for those that want to hang out together.We are also a great base site for those wilderness enthusiasts with access to all the El Dorado National Forest including Desolation but want a hot shower at the end of the day.Tahoe is less than an hour away.We are dog friendly and love our pets but absolutely enforce leash laws to protect your pet as well as the other campers.Due to the nature of our mixed audience camp we also enforce our quiet period from 10 pm to 7 AM.

We have a lodge that is stocked with game tables and every game imaginable along with a ping pong table.The lodge has a Keurig machine and a hot water kettle for those hot drinks (BYO Cups).We have several tables set up for those that want to eat inside as well as multiple picnic tables along the side of the lodge with overhead protection.We’ve been told that our bathrooms are the “cleanest” ever and have changing tables and diaper pails.The showers are nice and cleaned daily.

For outdoor activities we have basketball, volley ball and cornhole not to mention the playground with swing sets, seesaw and tractor play.We also have many outdoor games for meadow play including a tug-a-war rope, gunny sacks, baseballs, gloves and a soccer net.We have hiking trails throughout the property.Our highlight is a camp fire bowl with bench seating with a stage to display camper talent which is perfect for the evening fire and roasting s’mores.We treat our guests to s’mores each Saturday and Tuesday nights!The common area has BBQs – both propane and charcoal as well as a cooking griddle (we also adding a campfire pit in the campfire bowl area for charcoal dutch oven cooking).We are in the wilderness so we have a cool room to store all food at night – yes bears live in the wilderness.

The Creek starts out in the spring looking like a rushing river featuring lots of swimming holes and fishing.However, as the summer evolves it is more of a small creek even though we do dam a portion of it (goes up memorial day weekend and down after labor day) for those that want to use the floating devices we provide (starts out 6 feet and ends up closer to 3 feet).We do not allow individual campfires but have propane fire pits at our glamping sites and group camp sites for ambience – not cooking (glamping sites we provide one propane tank – group sites propane available for purchase).

We are located in the foothills so we are a short hop to many local attractions that include river rafting, gold mines, wineries and historic towns with great eating establishments. There’s always something happened in downtown Placerville.To make things nicer for our guests we have the ability to rent a limited number of tents, cots, individual propane fire pits, BBQs, etc. - anything to make it easier for our campers.Come give our location a try – we think you’ll enjoy yourselves.

The tent camping site is located right along the creek between sites #6 and #8. It requires that you pass by two camping Tents (4 and 5) and #6 and recommended for a small or medium size tent (8X10).  We limit the number of campers to 4 due to the space. Each camp spot has its own picnic table along with a propane fire pit that is available for ambiance.  Propane canisters are available for rental on site.

Please note we adhere to a three day minimum of Memorial Day, 4th of July and Labor Day!

During COVID-19 restrictions we will honor all state and county ordinances.  We will ensure social distancing and will close certain areas such as the lodge and playground area.  We expect all guests to comply as well.

Campsite area
Bring your own tents
1 site
Up to 6 guests per site
Walk to listing
No ADA access
Essentials
Campfires allowed
Toilet available
Pets allowed
Amenities
Potable water available
Showers available
Picnic table available
Bins available
No wifi
  • Check in: After 4PM
  • Check out: Before 12PM
  • Cancellation policy: Super Strict (30 Days)
  • On arrival: Meet and greet
  • Minimum nights: 2
  • Accepts bookings: 6 months out
  • Weeknight discount: 20% off
  • Response time: Within an hour
  • Response rate: 100%

You know what would make this trip even better?

Take advantage of these offers available to add to your trip to #6A Tent Camping Along Creek

$33
Rental

Propane 20 lb. tank

We provide a propane fire pit at each site for ambiance since we do not allow...Read more

Add to trip
Remove
0
max

Activities

Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Fishing
Hiking
Swimming
Wildlife watching

Terrain

Natural features you'll find at #6A Tent Camping Along Creek in California.

Forest
River, stream, or...
Swimming hole

The vibe at #6A Tent Camping Along Creek

This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Lisa

Only if you are white

Lisa W.
doesn't recommend this listing.
July 3rd, 2020

I was extremely appalled at our host's (Greg) behavior towards us during our stay and we will not be going back here again. When we arrived there was no sign saying where to check in at so we followed the map we had to our campsite. On the way we to it we ran across Greg who very sternly told us we were not welcome at our campsite until we checked in and to go back to the front of the camp and wait for him. OK, we did. After getting checked in everything seemed fine and we set up camp for the night. The camp has quiet hours after 10pm which we respected completely and my kids were asleep right around 10. Sometime after 11pm I get woke up to a flashlight shining all through our campsite. Finally, it shines through the tent into my face. I was scared and not sure how to respond. I here Greg yelling "Hey you." I responded in kind. Then he said" I got complaints of you guys being loud and disruptive and you need to stop immediately or you will leave." I proceeded to tell him we were all asleep and have been for quite some time and have no idea what he is speaking of. He then tells me he is not there to argue and to make sure we stay quiet or else. All that night I couldn't sleep because I have no idea what that was about or would he back and kick out my family for doing nothing. I know when he got to our campsite he heard no noise and saw all our lights were out, but still harassed us anyway.
The next morning I talked to campers located by us and explained what happened and they were all surprised because all of them said they were impressed with how quiet my kids actually were. A little while later Greg comes by and says "I hear I owe you an apology and you guys were not actually making any noise last night." REALLY? So when you walked up on my tent and heard nothing you didn't say to yourself then, what are these people that made the complaint talking about? Or was it because we were the only family of color there that we had to be the people causing a ruckus? Either way it spoiled most of our trip that we were singled out like that and that the host didn't feel we actually deserved an apology for his actions towards us. If you are not white I do not suggest this campgrounds.

Hipcamper Greg & Laurie
Response from Greg & Laurie, the Host, on July 4th, 2020

Lisa - I am so sorry your experience wasn't as expected. Greg was told that it was your campsite that was being loud and returned to the camp to investigate. I know the next day the information was corrected by another camper and I know he came by and apologized. I can understand your concern if he hadn't done that. If you look at around the camp you can see that we serve very diverse clientele and I assure you that nobody was singled out. Again, our apologies that your experience wasn't positive. It's a fine balance being a family camp and ensuring quiet time for the families and addressing concerns as they come up.

Helpful
1
Helpful
1
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Joe

Perfect family place

Joe O.
recommends this listing.
July 8th, 2019

The place is great. Greg was a great host even let us upgrade to a tent cabin that was available for one of our night. I will definitely be coming back to camp nauvoo. Plenty to do. Swimming, fishing, ping pong table,basketball, hiking we tried everything..

Hipcamper Melia

Happy childhood memories made here!

Melia V.
recommends this listing.
September 2nd, 2019

This place was nicer than it looked in the pictures! It has a real girl scout camp feeling to it, from fishing/floating in the creek, to playing ball in the meadow, to games & piano in the lodge. They had snow cones and smores for the kids, plus water guns and floaties - fun! Lots of grills made cooking easy. Bathrooms were cleaned regularly. Campsite was as expected.

Relaxing by the creek at campsite #6ASnow cones at the gazebo!Floating our cares away on a summer afternoon
Hipcamper David
David M.
recommends this listing.
June 1st, 2020

Beautiful spot right on the creek. Big enough for one large tent. Great amenities at this campground!

Hipcamper Corry
Corry F.
recommends this listing.
June 8th, 2020

Greg was very welcoming and accommodating! We had a nice relaxing time and everyone was pretty respectful of COVID19 rules. The location is lovely and kept nice and clean. Falling asleep to the gently rushing water of the creek was a delight.

The one note we'd like to mention is that we wish that the trail was a little more clearly marked, because it gets rough in some spots and we got turned around a few times because of it not being clear.

Hipcamper Emily

Wonderful family weekend

Emily M.
recommends this listing.
June 22nd, 2020

We really enjoyed our stay at camp Nauvoo. We stayed in campsite 6A along the river with young kids, and it was safe and we had a lot of privacy. I would choose site 6 next time if we tent camp, because of the better access to the river and closer distance to the bathrooms, but 6A was also really nice.

Hipcamper Dawn

Minimal privacy

Dawn W.
doesn't recommend this listing.
June 29th, 2020

Disappointed at what a hassle it was to haul camping equipment down to site. Carts were helpful but steep hill in a few places. It was difficult not to have vehicle at campsite. Minimal privacy once at site. Literally close enough to hear conversations in the tent next door. Had to walk right through the middle of one persons campsite to even get to bathroom.

Hipcamper Greg & Laurie
Response from Greg & Laurie, the Host, on July 4th, 2020

Dawn - we are always open to feedback. I am curious what campsite you were referencing that you had to walk to to get to the bathroom?. We will take your feedback and see if we can make the trek easier. However, as you now know driving to the site if not an option. Take care and I hope you have a great summer! - Laurie

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Bea
Bea C.
recommends this listing.
July 12th, 2020

We enjoyed our camping here, lovely spot, would come again. Kids had a great time playing in the creek.

I would love Greg & Laurie to expand the hiking options, the only trail is good but longer options could be awesome.

Hipcamper Fabian M.
recommends this listing.
August 6th, 2020
Hipcamper Rachel K.
recommends this listing.
September 9th, 2019

Awards

Best of 2018 California
5th place
Property
Camp Nauvoo
State
California
Country
United States
$75/night
1 Site
Hipcamp is created with ❤️ and hope for our future