Hipcamp host Stacey
Hosted by
Pitch your tent on our 60 acre private ranch. You can choose to bed down near the pond and let the frogs and crickets lull you to sleep or hike the mountain and sleep beneath the seemingly never ending stars. Just a few min hike from the Fresno River and you can search for the abandoned Indian camp on the property! Close to Oakhurst, Yosemite, Bass Lake and many more Continue reading...

Pitch your tent on our 60 acre private ranch. You can choose to bed down near the pond and let the frogs and crickets lull you to sleep or hike the mountain and sleep beneath the seemingly never ending stars. Just a few min hike from the Fresno River and you can search for the abandoned Indian camp on the property!

Close to Oakhurst, Yosemite, Bass Lake and many more beautiful attractions. This is a super fun place to camp and explore.

Fire is permitted during burning season, please ask me where fires are allowed and Ill show you...

Also available is indoor camping, A 10x10 room with a door and nice big window overlooking one of the big ponds only 15 feet away. ( the listing name is "Pond rough cabin camping")

The sites are dispersed, we found this allows people to get the best experience possible by choosing their own camp site. However, there are a few rules. We ask that all vehicles be parked on the Cement pad and please do not enter either of the old houses. ( you can camp anywhere 30 feet or further from the houses. )

There is a dirt road that you can use if you choose to camp next to the old horse barn, however please stay on the road as we have lots of exposed water pipe and well head.

Campsite area
Bring your own tents
No. of sites
7 bookable sites
Access
Park at listing
Group sizes
Up to 8 people per site
No potable water
Bring your own water, purify from lake or pond
Fires allowed
No toilet
Dig a cathole, pack it out
Pets allowed
On leash
No showers
Bath in river or stream
Pack it out
No picnic table
No wifi
No RV hookup
No RV sanitation
Have a question? Send Stacey a message!
  • Check in: After 2PM
  • Check out: Before 11AM
  • Cancellation policy: Super Strict
  • On arrival: Go straight to camp
  • Minimum nights: None
  • Accepts bookings: 18 months out
  • Response time: Within an hour
  • Response rate: 100%
Biking
Fishing
Hiking
Horseback riding
Paddling
OHV
Climbing
Snow sports
Swimming
Wildlife watching
Boating
Wind sports
Surfing
Whitewater paddling

The vibe at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp

Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Stacey N.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Stacey N.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Stacey N.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Stacey N.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Stacey N.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Stacey N.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Stacey N.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Stacey N.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Nic C.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Emily B.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Emily B.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Emily B.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Emily B.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
Claire S.'s photo at Apache Ranch - Indian Camp
5 Reviews
This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Nic
Recommends this listing

Apache Ranch is a no-frills, secluded camping area that is a stone's throw away from Yosemite National Park. Located in the rolling hills just outside of Oakhurst off of the 49, Apache Ranch is a nice property that has a couple ponds and lots of hillside vegetation to explore. The property itself has a lot of potential for future renovations/upgrades, but as it currently stands, it is pretty straightforward. You will need to bring in all of your needs for camping (tent, water, trash bags, toilet articles, etc. etc.) as there is a not a ton of infrastructure for camping.

Once you pass the cattle crossings and enter the actual property you will encounter the main house and guest house on the right. Further down on the left there is an old house that has a large paved area for parking. The old house and surrounding buildings (Detached garage, small building by one of the ponds, etc.) have seen better days, but are also a sign of the potential this property holds. I suppose if one wanted to camp near the old house that it would be possible, as the ground is paved and flat and there are plenty of places to park and spread out a bit. We chose to go a bit off of the beaten path and even though it required us to lug some gear from the car to our camping spots, it was a good trade off for the seclusion we found.

I, personally, enjoyed that the property had more of a rural/backcountry feel, as I love the process of exploring a property and choosing a site of my own choosing. There were a number of places that could have been used to set-up, but we chose to camp behind the old horse stalls in the fenced-in, grassy area. We also set-up a second tent (and hammock) behind the old stalls and down the hill a bit, which is a bit more secluded and protected from the wind.

We were lucky enough to be on the property in the spring and everything was lush. There was ample shade and vegetation, and even though the grass was high in many areas, it provided some nice bedding for our tents. This property is very quiet and if you travel to the eastern reaches of the property you can hear the sounds of the river that flow through the ravine below. Apache Ranch was a great one-nighter for us to enjoy some solitude and recharge our batteries.

Rj4deyixs8rcoor7f3ybEtwzqy02gltt0rx5ltazOdeq9qaenkgznnuepq8wIrniiglitsokbvcniyrt
Hipcamper Susan
Recommends this listing

Planned a last minute trip to Yosemite over Memorial Day Weekend and were so thankful to have stumbled across this site. Stacey was super helpful and always responded to our messages within minutes. Would definitely recommend this site to anyone!

Hipcamper Stacey
Response from Stacey, the Host, on February 4th, 2018

Thank you so much for your review Susan, last year was our first year hosting campers and this summer we are proud to be able to offer an even better experience. including well defined campsites with plenty of personal space! if you come back to the area we would love to host your group again!

Hipcamper Jessica
Has mixed feelings towards this listing

It was a nice secluded spot...With a bunch of other campers. The land is huge but unless you want to trek through knee high grass down a mountain, space is limited. You aren't as on top of others as you would be at a traditional campground but holiday weekend you'll be aware of others around you. If you want privacy, check and see how many are booked.

Wear long pants and thick socks as there are A TON of thistles and sharp grasses.

All in all. Great for what it is, but manage expectations. Pictures make it look magical. It is a solid camping spot.

Hipcamper Stacey
Response from Stacey, the Host, on February 4th, 2018

Thank you Jessica for the notes, we have mowed a large area and are in the process of making well defined campsites so guests will have more of their own space. hopefully you'll choose to return when the modifications are made.

Hipcamper Emily
Recommends this listing

My friend and I booked Apache Ranch last minute for Memorial Day weekend and we're so glad we did! It was a lovely property and Stacey was very helpful / accessible.

Like they say in the listing, there are no set "campsites" so you can explore the property first and pick a spot that seems nice. Make sure you're prepared for no running water and even though it's warm this time of year, dress appropriately for lots of high grass. Being from the Bay, it was great to feel like we were truly "off the grid," but also have the host's home within walking distance in case anything were to come up.

Mc9vz7pvjkblrhjwmp0hYkusxkp7awuww4hiv27xSjcexjx1bkkxa9diatqcVxf7rpisfc3kxvwvdbxg
Hipcamper Rebecca
Does not recommend this listing

the house was incredibly difficult to get to and the road challenging and almost impassible in our car, the site was buggy and dirty (their was a spray paint can open work site for building houses, and burned grass and broken glass.) not a place i would recommend, not a place to go back to. It was NOT a camp site, but rather they are building a house and said we could camp in the driveway of the construction area. Definitely not something I would have ever paid money to go to. There are hostels for the same price around and much closer to yosemite (this was 2 hours from yosemite).

Hipcamper Stacey
Response from Stacey, the Host, on February 4th, 2018

Hi Rebecca, Were very sorry you choose to camp next to the house we are restoring. while it was the closest option to the parking area we made it very clear that you were welcome to camp anywhere on the 60 ACRE ranch... this year we have made some awesome changes including well groomed and outlined camp sites with plenty of personal space from other campers... also last year was our first year at the ranch so we didn't realize the road would get washed out. over the summer we had the road greatly repaired and put a lot of gravel down. while it is still a little bumpy its defiantly able to be driven comfortably in cars even as small as a Prius. We sincerely hope you would consider us again this year!

Property
Apache Ranch
State
California
$60/night
7 Sites