Hipcamp host Roman G.
Hosted by

-This campground is located at the bed of a natural mountain canyon next to the unincorporated city of Gisela, AZ. 

 -Tonto Creek is 200ft away, the creek is roughly 20ft wide at its widest with several places to swim, the water level is 7ft-15ft deep depending on the season 

-Fishing is allowed with a license of course, you can expect Small Mouth Bass, Rainbow T


-This campground is located at the bed of a natural mountain canyon next to the unincorporated city of Gisela, AZ. 

 -Tonto Creek is 200ft away, the creek is roughly 20ft wide at its widest with several places to swim, the water level is 7ft-15ft deep depending on the season 

-Fishing is allowed with a license of course, you can expect Small Mouth Bass, Rainbow Trout, Catfish and Sunfish

-The camp is located in the wash, just outside city limits 

-Small Italian bee-hive on property for local pollination and land betterment that is behind a small fenced enclosure 

-The property has been trimmed recently, the soil is mostly sand and can be leveled easily for your tent 

-There are numerous trees on the lot, mostly Mesquite trees. 

-A fire ring has been built, make sure its a legal burn day! 

-Payson is 15 minutes away 

-Natural land bridge in Payson 

-Great scenic hiking

Campsite area
Bring your own tents, vans and truck campers
1 site
Up to 10 guests per site
Park at listing
No ADA access
Campfires allowed
Pets allowed
No toilet
No potable water
No kitchen
No showers
No picnic table
No wifi
Pack it out
Camping vehicle details
No electrical hookup
No water hookup
No sewage hookup
No TV hookup
Have a question? Send Roman a message!
  • Check in: After 2PM
  • Check out: Before 12PM
  • Cancellation policy: Moderate
  • On arrival: Go straight to camp
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 12 months out
  • Weeknight discount: 40% off


Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Off-roading (OHV)
Wildlife watching


Natural features you'll find at Tonto Creek Bed Camping in Arizona.

River, stream, or...
Swimming hole

The vibe at Tonto Creek Bed Camping

8 Reviews

This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Raylan

Cute, peaceful campsite

Raylan N.
recommends this listing.
October 2nd, 2019

We arrived after dark and it was hard to see where to go, but the owner is in the process of putting up signs and solar lights. Very private and pretty. We were just a little family of three with one tent; a larger party would have to be more adventurous going off road to find a larger clearing. Couldn't beat it for the price though! Close to a cute, friendly country store and not far from Payson.

Tonto Creek Bed CampingTonto Creek Bed Camping
Hipcamper Leja

Not at all like the pictures! :(

Leja R.
doesn't recommend this listing.
October 7th, 2019

Found this site "Hipcamp" & thought we would give it a try since the site was extremely user friendly. The camp we chose had great pics & we received lots of friendly auto response texts from the host. When we arrived we had a very difficult time finding the location. We tried calling the host several times & had no service even though you have to drive through a neighborhood to get to the "campsite". When we finally arrived we were very dissapointed... apparently this time of year (Oct 5th) the water in the creek is very low & does not move...it was green, swampy & smelly. The mosquitoes & ants along with lack of shade & horrible smell left us with no choice but to turn around & drive 30 minutes north to Payson & we found a last minute camp site in upper Tonto creek. We are out $30 .....never again Hipcamp.

Hipcamper Roman
Response from Roman, the Host, on October 10th, 2019

I'm terribly sorry about the creek levels, as the creek is fed from rain and snowfall it is hard to predict it's level; I had been up last week and the river was great. Also the lack of cell phone coverage if your not with Verizon can be disappointing and I will make sure to mention that in the posting. Please enjoy the refund I provided and again I apologise about the inconveniences.

Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Kevin
Kevin B.
doesn't recommend this listing.
October 22nd, 2019

We didn't stay. It was right next to a bunch of houses that were a bit on the shady side.I didn't trust leaving my vehicle there to camp where it was decent. I ended up just driving an hour further too the mountains and camping at the national Park for free.

Hipcamper Jane

Very fishy

Jane S.
doesn't recommend this listing.
February 10th, 2020

Yards from public land. All roads even in “town” are dirt and gravel. No one in this village (of 530 ) that we asked has ever heard of this person, Roman, or the road he said the site was on. He never showed up, and one old guy said it’s a scam. If we hadn’t had a 4x4 truck we couldn’t have navigated the road to what looked like the site. His photos are aerial, and don’t show the abandoned house nearby. Didn’t feel safe. Very fishy.

Hipcamper Mark

Unable to access site

Mark W.
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
March 23rd, 2020

Was unable to get to the campsite due to a creek running across the road into the campsite. This may not have been an issue in a car/truck or on an adventure style motorcycle, which we were not riding. The local town folks were very helpful and friendly and showed us where we could set up camp less than half a mile away on BLM land. Gorgeous area of Arizona, and enjoyed the ride to the area.

Hipcamper Melissa

Great time! strange listing..

Melissa T.
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
April 27th, 2020

We went in mid April- the land was beautiful- To to creek was amazing. The listed campsite was a strange fire ring covered in weird weeds- no way could we safely camp there-but we went up some ATV roads up to the left and found an amazing spot by the river. I dont think it was on the listed property- but not sure- wasn't very clear. My Car is 4 wd so we found a workable spot. My car sustained several scratches tho.
The creek was amazing. We had a lot of fun catching toads, crawfish and swimming in the cool water. Az is seasonal for creeks and water- and it is obvious that the area floods during winter rains and monsoon season- so be careful. I also would not camp here during dry season, bit spring was awesome.
Take away: camp site was iffy - but the area was awesome and worth exploring! To to creek is beautiful

Tonto Creek Bed CampingTonto Creek Bed Camping
Hipcamper Matix K.
doesn't recommend this listing.
June 10th, 2020
Hipcamper Sarah A.
recommends this listing.
May 5th, 2020
The Tonto Shores Adventure!
United States
1 Site

Safety at Hipcamp

Inclusion Policy

We have a zero-tolerance policy against discrimination at Hipcamp and are committed to helping our Host and Hipcamper community be inclusive.

Learn More
Hipcamp Hand

Hosting Standards

All Hosts should review and adhere to these standards around providing a positive Hipcamp experience, being a thoughtful neighbor, and serving as a responsible citizen.

Learn More

Hipcamper Standards

All Hipcampers should review and adhere to these standards for safety, trip preparation, and respect in order to uphold Hipcamp’s most important value: “leave it better.”

Learn More

Safety partners

Recreate Responsibly

  1. Know before you go
  2. Practice physical distancing
  3. Plan ahead
  4. Play it safe
  5. Explore locally
  6. Leave no trace
  7. Build an inclusive outdoors
Learn More

Leave No Trace

  1. Plan ahead and prepare
  2. Travel and camp on durable surfaces
  3. Dispose of waste properly
  4. Leave what you find
  5. Minimize campfire impacts
  6. Respect wildlife
  7. Be considerate of other visitors
Learn More

National Weather Service

We integrate with the National Weather Service to provide valuable fire advisories to Hosts and Hipcampers. Real-time Red Flag Warnings and Fire Weather Watch Warnings help keep our community safe.

Learn More
Hipcamp is created with ❤️ and hope for our future