Hipcamp host Roman G.
Hosted by

-This campground is located at the bed of a natural mountain canyon next to the unincorporated city of Gisela, AZ. 

 -Tonto Creek is 200ft away, the creek is roughly 20ft wide at its widest with several places to swim, the water level is 7ft-15ft deep depending on the season 

-Fishing is allowed with a license of course, you can expect Small Mouth Bass, Rainbow T

Read more...

-This campground is located at the bed of a natural mountain canyon next to the unincorporated city of Gisela, AZ. 

 -Tonto Creek is 200ft away, the creek is roughly 20ft wide at its widest with several places to swim, the water level is 7ft-15ft deep depending on the season 

-Fishing is allowed with a license of course, you can expect Small Mouth Bass, Rainbow Trout, Catfish and Sunfish

-The camp is located in the wash, just outside city limits 

-Small Italian bee-hive on property for local pollination and land betterment that is behind a small fenced enclosure 

-The property has been trimmed recently, the soil is mostly sand and can be leveled easily for your tent 

-There are numerous trees on the lot, mostly Mesquite trees. 

-A fire ring has been built, make sure its a legal burn day! 

-Payson is 15 minutes away 

-Natural land bridge in Payson 

-Great scenic hiking

Campsite area
Bring your own tents, vans
1 site
Up to 10 guests per site
Park at listing
No ADA access
Essentials
Campfires allowed
Pets allowed
No toilet
Amenities
No potable water
No kitchen
No showers
No picnic table
No wifi
Pack it out
Camping vehicle details
No electrical hookup
No water hookup
No sewage hookup
No TV hookup
Have a question? Send Roman a message!
  • Check in: After 2PM
  • Check out: Before 12PM
  • Cancellation policy: Moderate
  • On arrival: Go straight to camp
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 12 months out
  • Weeknight discount: 40% off

Activities

Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Biking
Fishing
Hiking
Paddling
OHV
Climbing
Swimming
Wildlife watching

Terrain

Natural features you'll find at Tonto Creek Bed Camping in Arizona.

Desert
Mesa or canyon
River, stream or ...
Swimming hole

The vibe at Tonto Creek Bed Camping

3 Written reviews
This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Raylan

Cute, peaceful campsite

Raylan N.
recommends this listing.
October 2nd, 2019

We arrived after dark and it was hard to see where to go, but the owner is in the process of putting up signs and solar lights. Very private and pretty. We were just a little family of three with one tent; a larger party would have to be more adventurous going off road to find a larger clearing. Couldn't beat it for the price though! Close to a cute, friendly country store and not far from Payson.

Tonto Creek Bed CampingTonto Creek Bed Camping
Hipcamper Leja

Not at all like the pictures! :(

Leja R.
doesn't recommend this listing.
October 7th, 2019

Found this site "Hipcamp" & thought we would give it a try since the site was extremely user friendly. The camp we chose had great pics & we received lots of friendly auto response texts from the host. When we arrived we had a very difficult time finding the location. We tried calling the host several times & had no service even though you have to drive through a neighborhood to get to the "campsite". When we finally arrived we were very dissapointed... apparently this time of year (Oct 5th) the water in the creek is very low & does not move...it was green, swampy & smelly. The mosquitoes & ants along with lack of shade & horrible smell left us with no choice but to turn around & drive 30 minutes north to Payson & we found a last minute camp site in upper Tonto creek. We are out $30 .....never again Hipcamp.

Hipcamper Roman
Response from Roman, the Host, on October 10th, 2019

I'm terribly sorry about the creek levels, as the creek is fed from rain and snowfall it is hard to predict it's level; I had been up last week and the river was great. Also the lack of cell phone coverage if your not with Verizon can be disappointing and I will make sure to mention that in the posting. Please enjoy the refund I provided and again I apologise about the inconveniences.

Helpful
1
Helpful
1
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Kevin
Kevin B.
doesn't recommend this listing.
October 22nd, 2019

We didn't stay. It was right next to a bunch of houses that were a bit on the shady side.I didn't trust leaving my vehicle there to camp where it was decent. I ended up just driving an hour further too the mountains and camping at the national Park for free.

Property
The Tonto Shores Adventure!
State
Arizona
$15/night
1 Site
Hipcamp is created with ❤️ and hope for our future